Yes it is legal.
However, if your insurer pays the claim, it would have what is called a subrogation claim against the party responsible for the loss.
There are many situations in which more than one policy
covers the same loss. Insurers put 3 basic types of clauses into their policies to handle this problem.
1- There may be an escape clause that eliminates coverage for a loss covered by another policy.
2- There may be a "pro rata" clause that says the insurer will share the loss with any other valid and collectible policies.
3- There may be a subrogation clause.
However, even in the absence of a subrogation clause, the Courts have given subrogation rights to insurers who pay property damage claims.
In general, there is no rule against presenting the claim to more than one insurer.
I hope this information is helpful.