How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Roger Your Own Question
Roger, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 30909
Experience:  BV Rated by Martindale-Hubbell; SuperLawyer rating by Thompson-Reuters
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Roger is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

If a father abused a son at age 14 in 1971 in Indiana, can

This answer was rated:

If a father abused a son at age 14 in 1971 in Indiana, can the son now living in Floida at age 53 bring a law suit against the father?
Hi - my name is XXXXX XXXXX I'm a litigation attorney here to assist you.

In Florida, the statute of limitations to file charges for child molestation or sexual abuse is 4 years after the incident occurred, or 4 years after the child reaches the age of majority. Thus, you would have had to file charges before you were 22 years old if you were a minor (under 18) when the abuse occurred.
Roger and 9 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

Related Legal Questions