How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask NateLawAnswers Your Own Question
NateLawAnswers
NateLawAnswers, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 10685
Experience:  Over 8 years of legal practice.
11217539
Type Your Legal Question Here...
NateLawAnswers is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

i was stopped in nebraska and cited for driving on a suspended

Resolved Question:

i was stopped in nebraska and cited for driving on a suspended liscense from california. i was not arrested but have to appear in court. what can i expect?
Submitted: 6 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 6 years ago.
Thank you for your question.

What was it suspended for?
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
failure to appear
Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 6 years ago.
That's good. Penalties are more severe if it was for a DUI or being a Habitual Traffic Offender.

Upon a first conviction in California, by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than five days or more than six months and by a fine of not less than three hundred dollars ($300) or more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).

It is quite possible, however, that a conditional plea can be entered where either he goes to a class or presents with a valid license. If he doesn't have an extensive record, expect an option that avoids jail time.

I will be happy to follow up with you if you have additional questions. In the meantime, please click ACCEPT so that I can get credit for answering your question.

Thanks!

Nathan Moore
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
i live in nebraska now so would the outcome be any different?
Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 6 years ago.
No. It depends on where you were stopped. You would be subject to California law if that's where the charge occurred.
Customer: replied 6 years ago.

i was stopped in nebraska.

 

Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 6 years ago.
Well, now you know what happens if you ever go back to California!

Nebraska is a little better. Up to six months in jail (likely probation - almost certainly, probation), up to a $2000.00 fine (unlikely) and additional loss of license for one year (extremely likely).
NateLawAnswers and 6 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you