Thank you for your question.
Since burlary is not a specific felony granted an exception (1st or 2nd degree murder, attempt to commit 1st degree murder, criminal solicitation
to commit murder, involuntary manslaughter, reckless homicide, treason, arson, forgery
, which have no statutory limitation), it is deemed as an "all other felonies", and has a 3 year statutory limtiation. Here is the law below:
(720 ILCS 5/3-5) (from Ch. 38, par. 3-5)
Sec. 3-5. General Limitations.
(a) A prosecution for: (1) first degree murder, attempt to commit first degree murder, second degree murder, involuntary manslaughter, reckless homicide, leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving death or personal injuries under Section 11-401 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, failing to give information and render aid under Section 11-403 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, concealment of homicidal death, treason, arson, aggravated arson, forgery, child pornography under paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 11-20.1, aggravated child pornography under paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 11-20.3, or (2) any offense involving sexual conduct or sexual penetration, as defined by Section 12-12 of this Code in which the DNA profile of the offender is obtained and entered into a DNA database within 10 years after the commission of the offense, may be commenced at any time. Clause (2) of this subsection (a) applies if either: (i) the victim reported the offense to law enforcement authorities within 3 years after the commission of the offense unless a longer period for reporting the offense to law enforcement authorities is provided in Section 3-6 or (ii) the victim is murdered during the course of the offense or within 2 years after the commission of the offense.
(b) Unless the statute describing the offense provides otherwise, or the period of limitation is extended by Section 3-6, a prosecution for any offense not designated in Subsection (a) must be commenced within 3 years after the commission of the offense if it is a felony, or within one year and 6 months after its commission if it is a misdemeanor.
Edited by Dimitry Alexander Kaplun on 1/5/2011 at 5:43 AM EST