Thanks for your questions.Lets go through them
*if she comes for her things, should I call 911 before letting her in the house?
*if she's not able to be served because she doesn't come back here, does she have a valid excuse for not appearing in court two weeks from now for the hearing to determine whether I'm able to obtain a year-long protective order.
No court grants it by default
*how long am I required to hold onto her belongings? *while she has no money, her husband (yes, she's technically still married to another man) does and could pay for the cost of her belongings to be returned to Georgia for her?
I would send letter to her addressed to his house stating that you are going to dispose of her belongings if unclaimed here after 30 days.You can donate them if necessary.I prefer this to trying to collect storage.
All you can do here is send letter and see if she surfaces.You can donate it here after 30 days arguing you gave notice and that it was abandoned.You could sell it but to me you would be better off getting receipt from say goodwill.
This is law for landlords for Washington
§§ 59. 18. 310,
59. 18. 312
A landlord may store property remaining when a sheriff executes a writ of restitution unless the tenant objects to storage. If the tenant objects, the landlord may place the property on the nearest public property. If the landlord stores property valued at $ 50 or less, he must give the tenant notice that he intends to sell or dispose of it after seven days unless it is reclaimed. If the property is valued at over $ 50, the landlord must give the tenant notice that he intends to sell or dispose of it after 45 days unless it is reclaimed. The landlord must apply and sale proceeds to any outstanding debts the tenant owes the landlord, including rent and storage of the property. The tenant can claim any excess income from the sale for up to one year. After one year, the balance becomes the landlord's property.
Edited by RayAnswers on 10/1/2010 at 3:07 AM EST