How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Sam Your Own Question

Sam
Sam, Attorney at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 22337
Experience:  20 years of experience practicing law.
10707909
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Sam is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I am looking for just an opinion on the florida statute of

Customer Question

I am looking for just an opinion on the florida statute of limitations FSS(NNN) NNN-NNNN My old police dept is now trying to take away my pension. I was charged with only policy violations but was terminated on 11/17/2005. The date of the alleged incident was 4/19/2003. The pension board took no action until 07/2009. The way I read the statute is that action must be taken before 5 yrs of the date of the incident. Can you advise?
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Sam replied 4 years ago.

Hi

 

Here is the statute and I do not see where it provides a statute of limitiatons on the boards action. Could you, please, copy and paste that section from the law I have provided. Because I do not see where it states anything that you are referring to.

 

 

 

 

Customer: replied 4 years ago.
The actual statute of limitations is FS112.3231
112.3231

Time limitations.

(1)

On or after October 1, 1993, all sworn complaints alleging a violation of this part, or of any other breach of the public trust within the jurisdiction of the Commission on Ethics under s. 8, Art. II of the State Constitution, shall be filed with the commission within 5 years of the alleged violation or other breach of the public trust.

(2)

A violation of this part or any other breach of public trust is committed when every element has occurred or, if the violation or breach of public trust involves a continuing course of conduct, at the time when the course of conduct or the officer’s, employee’s, or candidate’s complicity therein is terminated. Time starts to run on the day after the violation or breach of public trust is committed.

(3)

The applicable period of limitation is tolled on the day a sworn complaint against the public officer, employee, or candidate is filed with the Commission on Ethics. If it can be concluded from the face of the complaint that the applicable period of limitation has run, the complaint shall be dismissed and the commission shall issue a public report.

History.

s. 13, ch. 91-85; s. 10, ch. 94-277.

Expert:  Sam replied 4 years ago.

Hi

 

According to the law, it would have needed to be within 5 years.

Sam, Attorney at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 22337
Experience: 20 years of experience practicing law.
Sam and 16 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Thank You
Expert:  Sam replied 4 years ago.

Hi

 

You're welcome. Please keep in mind, that I can only answer what is asked. So if you have more questions in this regard, please post them here and I will continue assisting.

 

Thank you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
 
 
 

Related Legal Questions

Chat Now With A Lawyer
Sam
Sam
Lawyer
22337 Satisfied Customers
20 years of experience practicing law.