Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
He'll be an adult under Florida law at age 18. Once he's 18, you can order him out and he has no legal right to enter the home without your permission, and if he does, you can file trespassing charges.
Thus, filing a petition for emancipation may not do you much good here as it would likely take 3-5 months to get a court order from the judge. By then, he'll be 18 anyway. Here's a link that discusses Florida emancipation law: http://www.vclawlib.org/new/research-feb-09/EMANCIPATION20IN20FLORIDA%5B1%5D.pdf
There are no free, state-issued forms out there. You can find forms online (for a price: http://www.uslegalforms.com/fl/FL-EM-001.htm) or hire an attorney to file this for you.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).