Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
Thank you for using Just Answer. Just to clarify - are you asking whether you must take the time or whether the employer must allow you to take the time?
My employer is requesting that I work an extra 1/2 hr to allot for a "lunch break" that I do not take. I want to know if an employee working a graveyard shift is required by law to take a 1/2 lunch break? Or are there any special provisions for those employees working an off-shift or a shift without adequate personnel coverage? I do not want to take a 1/2 hour lunch break. I consider the graveyard shift a straight 8-hour shift.
Your employer must pay you for your break, so it shouldn't extend your work day. California law requires that all employees, except for salaried employees and certain residential care facility workers, be given a ten minute paid break for each 4 hours worked. Your employer cannot make you work more hours without additional pay to make up for the required break. You are not required to take a break if you choose not to. However, you cannot leave early if you choose not to take a break.
More information regarding the break requirement is available here: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_restperiods.htm
Please let me know if you need additional clarification.
Hello - I am not inquiring about a "rest period". I know that I am allowed two 10-minute rest periods per 8 hour shift.
What I am asking about a 30 minute lunch break. Is it a California Law that an employer require an employee to take a 30 minute meal break during an 8-hour graveyard shift?
In other words, I currently work a shift of 9pm-5am (alone). My employer wants me to work from 9pm-5:30am and is requiring me to take a 30 minute (unpaid) lunch break during the graveyard shift. Are there any special circumstances regarding meal breaks and off-shifts such as the graveyard shift?
I apologize for the confusion. Yes, unfortunatley, the employer can require that you take a lunch break. California requires that you be allowed to take one and you cannot waive it. However, if your work requires that you remain on the premises, you must be paid for the time.
More information is available from the California Department of Labor: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_mealperiods.htm
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).