Section 4510.11 of the Ohio Revised Codes governs this violation.
Subsection C (1) says that whoever violates this section is guilty of driving under suspension or in violation of a license restriction, a misdemeanor of the first degree. The court shall impose upon the offender a class seven suspension of the offender's driver's license, commercial driver's license, temporary instruction permit, probationary license, or nonresident operating privilege from the range specified in division (A)(7) of section 4510.02 of the Revised Code.
For a class seven suspension, a definite period not to exceed one year is listed under 4510.02. A misdemeanor of the first degree in Ohio, which driving with a suspended license is listed as, has a maximum penalty of up to a $1,000.00 fine and/or six months in jail.
Ohio law also allows that in addition to other penalties imposed on the offender a vehicle registered in the offender's name can be ordered immobilized, if it was involved in the offense, for thirty days in accordance with section 4503.233 of the Revised Code and the impoundment of that vehicle's license plates for thirty days.
If this is not the first time, the license plate can be impounded for 60 days.
Hope this helps.
M. Strisik, Esq.