How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Jim Reilly Your Own Question
Jim Reilly
Jim Reilly, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 1804
Experience:  California lawyer since 1976.
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Jim Reilly is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

What is the penalty for practicing law without a license in

Resolved Question:

What is the penalty for practicing law without a license in the state of Tennessee?
Submitted: 7 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Jim Reilly replied 7 years ago.
Practicing law without a license in Tennessee is a Class A misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is 11 months and 29 days in jail and/or a fine of $2500. Tennessee Code section 23-3-103(a) & (b).

There is also a provision for civil proceedings, including restraining orders, penalties of up to $10,000 per violation and required payment of restitution for any harm done by such unlawful practice of law. Tennessee Code section 23-3-103(c).
Jim Reilly and 4 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

Related Legal Questions