Ask a Lawyer and Get Answers to Your Legal Questions
This crime is considered a misdemeanor theft and in Illinois, the merchant may sue you in small claims court rather than pursue criminal charges.
Misdemeanors in Illinois can carry a maximum punishment of a fine and less than one year of incarceration. Your fine can be not less than 100 dollars and not more than 1,000 dollars.
The law states that stores can impose a Civil Demandamount of not less than $100.00 and not more than $1,000.00 pershoplifting incident. Also, here in this matter civil demand can be imposed whether or not you are prosecuted.
Criminal fines can be anything up to three times the value of the theft.
I hope this answers your question and good luck with the situation..
Thank you and please click accept so that I may be paid for my answer to you. Thank you for using Just Answer.