How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Sam Your Own Question
Sam
Sam, Attorney at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 27010
Experience:  More than 20 years of experience practicing law.
10707909
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Sam is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

What is pc496d in California?

Resolved Question:

What is pc496d, also what is hs11377: a?

Submitted: 8 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Sam replied 8 years ago.

Is this Connecticut?

Customer: replied 8 years ago.

No CA

Expert:  Sam replied 8 years ago.

Yes, I saw CA after I sent the info request. I thgt CA but then said the Rocky Hill reference. Okay here are the codes

496d. (a) Every person who buys or receives any motor vehicle, as
defined in Section 415 of the Vehicle Code, any trailer, as defined
in Section 630 of the Vehicle Code, any special construction
equipment, as defined in Section 565 of the Vehicle Code, or any
vessel, as defined in Section 21 of the Harbors and Navigation Code,
that has been stolen or that has been obtained in any manner
constituting theft or extortion, knowing the property to be stolen or
obtained, or who conceals, sells, withholds, or aids in concealing,
selling, or withholding any motor vehicle, trailer, special
construction equipment, or vessel from the owner, knowing the
property to be so stolen or obtained, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 16 months or two or three years
or a fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both,
or by imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year or a fine
of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.
(b) For the purposes of this section, the terms "special
construction equipment" and "vessel" are limited to motorized
vehicles and vessels.

11377. (a) Except as authorized by law and as otherwise provided in
subdivision (b) or Section 11375, or in Article 7 (commencing with
Section 4211) of Chapter 9 of Division 2 of the Business and
Professions Code, every person who possesses any controlled substance
which is (1) classified in Schedule III, IV, or V, and which is not
a narcotic drug, (2) specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11054,
except paragraphs (13), (14), (15), and (20) of subdivision (d), (3)
specified in paragraph (11) of subdivision (c) of Section 11056, (4)
specified in paragraph (2) or (3) of subdivision (f) of Section
11054, or (5) specified in subdivision (d), (e), or (f) of Section
11055, unless upon the prescription of a physician, dentist,
podiatrist, or veterinarian, licensed to practice in this state,
shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of
not more than one year or in the state prison.
(b) (1) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by unlawfully
possessing a controlled substance specified in subdivision (f) of
Section 11056, and who has not previously been convicted of a
violation involving a controlled substance specified in subdivision
(f) of Section 11056, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(2) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by unlawfully
possessing a controlled substance specified in subdivision (g) of
Section 11056 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(c) In addition to any fine assessed under subdivision (b), the
judge may assess a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) against
any person who violates subdivision (a), with the proceeds of this
fine to be used in accordance with Section 1463.23 of the Penal Code.
The court shall, however, take into consideration the defendant's
ability to pay, and no defendant shall be denied probation because of
his or her inability to pay the fine permitted under this
subdivision.

Sam and 11 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you