Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
It is part of California's Health and Safety Code.
Here is the entire code:
11350. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this division, everyperson who possesses (1) any controlled substance specified insubdivision (b) or (c), or paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) ofSection 11054, specified in paragraph (14), (15), or (20) ofsubdivision (d) of Section 11054, or specified in subdivision (b) or(c) of Section 11055, or specified in subdivision (h) of Section11056, or (2) any controlled substance classified in Schedule III,IV, or V which is a narcotic drug, unless upon the writtenprescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarianlicensed to practice in this state, shall be punished by imprisonmentin the state prison. (b) Except as otherwise provided in this division, every personwho possesses any controlled substance specified in subdivision (e)of Section 11054 shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jailfor not more than one year or in the state prison. (c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, whenever aperson who possesses any of the controlled substances specified insubdivision (a) or (b), the judge may, in addition to any punishmentprovided for pursuant to subdivision (a) or (b), assess against thatperson a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) with proceeds ofthis fine to be used in accordance with Section 1463.23 of the PenalCode. The court shall, however, take into consideration thedefendant's ability to pay, and no defendant shall be deniedprobation because of his or her inability to pay the fine permittedunder this subdivision. (d) Except in unusual cases in which it would not serve theinterest of justice to do so, whenever a court grants probationpursuant to a felony conviction under this section, in addition toany other conditions of probation which may be imposed, the followingconditions of probation shall be ordered: (1) For a first offense under this section, a fine of at least onethousand dollars ($1,000) or community service. (2) For a second or subsequent offense under this section, a fineof at least two thousand dollars ($2,000) or community service. (3) If a defendant does not have the ability to pay the minimumfines specified in paragraphs (1) and (2), community service shall beordered in lieu of the fine.
Here is a link to the California Health & Safety Codes, if you need more information:
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).