How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Walter Your Own Question
Walter
Walter, Legal Consultant
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 11528
Experience:  Specializing in all aspects of law including Family, Real Estate, Employment and Consumer Protection
997364
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Walter is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I LIVE IN STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE MY LANDLORD TOOK ...

Customer Question

I LIVE IN STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE MY LANDLORD TOOK FIRST,LAST, AND SECURITY FROM ME. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS AGAINST THE LAW . IF IT IS, WHAT IS THE LAW? AND WERE CAN I FIND IT SO I CAN TELL HIM WERE TO LOCATE THIS LAW? I THINK THE PROBLEM IS HE LIVES IN MASSACHUSSETS!!!!!
Submitted: 8 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Walter replied 8 years ago.

Hello,

Anything that you pay to a landlord in excess of one month's rent is a security deposit. In New Hampshire, a landlord can require no more than $100 or one month's rent as a security deposit.


The landlord must give you a receipt for your security deposit.

Here is a link with more information:

Renting, Security Deposits, and Evictions New Hampshire Consumer's ...