How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask rayanswers Your Own Question
rayanswers, Lawyer
Category: Landlord-Tenant
Satisfied Customers: 36331
Experience:  30 years as a Texas lawyer dealing in landlord tenant
Type Your Landlord-Tenant Question Here...
rayanswers is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Lease, how many days can landlord ask tenant to vacate the

Customer Question

lease , how many days can landlord ask tenant to vacate the the property.
JA: Because laws vary from place to place, can you tell me what state the property is in?
Customer: California. The lease expired and become month to month
JA: What are the terms of the lease? Any issues related to maintenance or upkeep?
Customer: Tenant upkeep the interior. Landlord maintain yard& pool
JA: Anything else you want the lawyer to know before I connect you?
Customer: Lease has expired and become month to month
Submitted: 4 days ago.
Category: Landlord-Tenant
Expert:  rayanswers replied 4 days ago.

Hi and welcome to JA. Ray here to help you today.Please bear with me a few moments while I review your question and respond.

Expert:  rayanswers replied 4 days ago.

Notice Requirements for California Tenants. Unless your rental agreement provides a shorter notice period, you must give your landlord 30 days' notice to end a month-to-month tenancy.So the tenant has to give at least 30 days written notice if the lease has expired unless the lease provides otherwise.This would allow tenant to leave at end of 30 days.

Expert:  rayanswers replied 4 days ago.

Please let me know if you have more follow up.Appreciate the chance to help you today.

Customer: replied 4 days ago.
I thougt it is 60 days notice in California, when the tenant has reside more than 1 year.
The tenant was under 1 year lease . The lease has expires 2 years ago and the term of the lease provided that it falls to month to month rent.
Customer: replied 4 days ago.
Please advise

Related Landlord-Tenant Questions