How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Buachaill Your Own Question

Buachaill
Buachaill, Lawyer
Category: Republic of Ireland Law
Satisfied Customers: 8436
Experience:  Barrister 17 years experience
53108719
Type Your Republic of Ireland Law Question Here...
Buachaill is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

want to go ahead with judicial review can i get free legal

Resolved Question:

want to go ahead with judicial review can i get free legal aid paid for solicitor and barrister so far i am on disability
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Republic of Ireland Law
Expert:  Buachaill replied 1 year ago.
1. You are within the income limits for Legal Aid which is Social Welfare recipients. However, the other issue which the legal aid Board will look at is the relevance of the judicial review to your own personal situation. It is rare that a Legal Aid Certificate issues for a judicial review and then only when the decision being reviewed directly affects a person. Examples are immigration matters, criminal matters, social welfare matters. However, other matters such as planning or public decisions will not attract legal aid. If you clarify what decision you wish to judicial review I will be happy to assist further.
Please RATE the Answer positively so that I may get paid
Buachaill, Lawyer
Satisfied Customers: 8436
Experience: Barrister 17 years experience
Buachaill and other Republic of Ireland Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


I wish for a judicial review of a "driving under the influence of cannibas" case. The ban for this offence is a 4 yr dissqualification from driving, which in my opinion is very harsh for a first and only offence. Giving my personal situation the relevance of the judicial review is high because my partner doesn't drive and i have a two yr old son which requires at least one trip a year to Crumlin Hospital in Dublin. My question that i want answered is, can free legal aid be provided to me for the judicial review? I am currently on disability and cannot afford a barrister. I would gratefully appreciate an answer regarding the availability of free legel aid for my situation. Thank you.

Expert:  Buachaill replied 1 year ago.
2. Judicial review most definitely can issue for this situation given the grave issues which flow for you from a negative outcome. The way the Legal Aid Board will deal with your application is that it will get an opinion from a barrister about the likely prospects of success of the judicial review. If there is a probably successful or you have any chance of a good outcome, you will definitely get judicial review. However, a Legal Aid Certificate will not issue where there is no chance of success on the Legal Aid application. In this regard, your prospects of getting Legal Aid depend on the prospects of success in the judicial review and whether there is a good point in your case. Nowadays the Legal Aid Board will not fund cases without some prospect of success.
Please RATE the Answer positively so that I may get paid

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Buachaill

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    3257
    Barrister 17 years experience
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    3257
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CM/cmcsolicitor/2013-7-4_114944_CMCMay12colourheadshotcropped.64x64.jpg cmcsolicitor's Avatar

    cmcsolicitor

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    144
    and Mediator practicing in Cork, Ireland.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg INC's Avatar

    INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    93
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    45
    UK based Immigration Solicitor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Topadvisor/2010-5-18_221239_Me.jpg Top_advisor's Avatar

    Top_advisor

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31
    Solicitor and Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/IT/ItalianLawyer/2013-6-10_214626_P10100822.64x64.jpg T.DePas's Avatar

    T.DePas

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    150
    Solicitor - Ph.D. Doctor Europaeus in EU law