How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Richard Your Own Question

Richard
Richard, Technical Manager
Category: HVAC
Satisfied Customers: 1514
Experience:  27 years of Experience, NATE Certified, professional trainer
29828770
Type Your HVAC Question Here...
Richard is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Which thermostat in your opinion is the most accurate & dependable.

Resolved Question:

Which thermostat in your opinion is the most accurate & dependable. If you had to put one in your own home which would you choose-Honeywell; White-Rodgers; Robertshaw; Lux & why?
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: HVAC
Expert:  Richard replied 3 years ago.

Hello loaded question here..lol First each manufactures thermostat can and will work differently with different equipment. In the digital age algorithms play a big factor. Both the thermostat and the manufacture of the boards in the HVAC equipment. This will determine how accurate or sensitive it is. Although most are very close there are differences in model quality and functions you may prefer. All the manufactures you listed do make a quality thermostat, with that said some companies will offer better support and warranty on the thermostats, you will find Honeywell and White Rodgers are probably the biggest and most competitive and also work hand in hand with many of the HVAC manufactures. Example Rheem/Ruud tests with WR and now some Honeywell thermostats. Most manufactures do not test their equipment with thermostats they just use on and off toggle switches during development. ( odd I know ,but true) However I had a Robert Shaw thermostat hooked up to a Rheem furnace ( RGPH) in an old house and it was the most accurate thermostat to a 1/10th of a degree I ever used.

I hope I am not getting off track here to your original questions, as for the dependability I would stick with Honeywell or White Rodgers both have excellent quality and very good warranties. When choosing a thermostat keep in mind what features you like and the want to use them. Lux will not be a good choice here as they do things differently are seem to be a little more complicated in the set up procedures. But they do offer good web site help.

Lastly, what thermostat do I have, White Rodgers touch screen, I like the touch screen and the WR has a large lit blue back screen easy to see with my getting tired eyes.lol Much brighter than the Honeywell and in color. Let me know if this was helpful or if you have specific models your comparing. Thank you Richard

Richard, Technical Manager
Category: HVAC
Satisfied Customers: 1514
Experience: 27 years of Experience, NATE Certified, professional trainer
Richard and 6 other HVAC Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 3 years ago.
Thank you for your comments-very helpful. I am comparing a Robertshaw rs 5110 programmable & a White-rodgers 1f87-361 programmable & a Honeywell Pro T8775c digital round non-programmable thermostat. I like each one-some things I like about one-some things I like about another, etc. I know that all three are good but I just would like one that works well in the long run & won't give many problems. I heard that Robertshaw sometimes has spike problems & that WR had a recall not to long ago. The Honeywell Round has been a quality t-stat for years & the digital one I would image would be to-but it is not programmable-not totally necessary for my needs & doesn't have near the features of the RS. So I am at a struggle. Which of these three do you think would be the best? I know it is very subjective-but a pro's opinion matters to me.
Expert:  Richard replied 3 years ago.
hello the Honeywell round is not the same as it used to be it is nothing more than a less expensive digital. Nothing like th eold murcury round dial that lasted for 100 years. In my opinion the Honeywell Pro 8775 or the WR 1F87are your best bet. I like the Honeywell better out of those. The White Rodger model is a good model but it is more of a builder model stat.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.
What about the Robertshaw rs 5110. You didn't mention it-so I am to assume you are not a big RS fan? How does the Honeywell Pro t8775c compare to the RS rs 5110 in your opinion?
Expert:  Richard replied 3 years ago.
hello the RS is a good thermostat although that model i am not that familiar with. I looked up the spec and the features are nice expecially for the price. RS has never been a bad thermostat and I have worked with many of their controls but more people request Honeywell and WR more than any other. I do like the bright blue background, it makes it easy to see at night that is a big plus if you have eyes like mine. lol

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
< Last | Next >
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • gotoman for ac

    HVAC Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    4657
    51 years of experience install design and repair of all makes and models of AC
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/SE/ServiceTechRus/2012-6-7_2119_056.64x64.JPG gotoman for ac's Avatar

    gotoman for ac

    HVAC Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    4657
    51 years of experience install design and repair of all makes and models of AC
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AL/alumalite/2012-5-10_234018_shutterstock506249951forJA500.64x64.jpg Phil's Avatar

    Phil

    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    3888
    Retired HVAC/ Electrical & Boiler contractor. Industrial
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/skibum0101/2008-12-16_015819_just_answer.jpg Rick Mather's Avatar

    Rick Mather

    HVAC Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    3132
    35 years experience, HVAC
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RY/Rygis20/2011-5-7_3143_DSC5324.64x64.JPG Matthew's Avatar

    Matthew

    HVAC Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1994
    14 years experience in the HVAC field of service, installation, Manual J & D calculations
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KE/kentguidry/2011-9-26_214316_0059.64x64.jpg Kenton Guidry's Avatar

    Kenton Guidry

    HVAC Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    962
    12 years install/service experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/solarman1947/2009-12-13_223915_phpkKBcXq_c2PM.jpg Rick Ridley's Avatar

    Rick Ridley

    UK Heating Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    871
    Retired But have had 30 years on the tools, Ex CORGI
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Ironheadfan/2009-12-18_222416_pump_005.jpg Tom's Avatar

    Tom

    HVAC Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    770
    16+yrs HVAC/R service. Residential Commerical Industrial
 
 
 

Related HVAC Questions

Chat Now With A HVAC Technician
Richard
Richard
HVAC Technician
1514 Satisfied Customers
27 years of Experience, NATE Certified, professional trainer