How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ron Z. Your Own Question

Ron Z.
Ron Z., - Honda Tech -
Category: Honda
Satisfied Customers: 14208
Experience:  18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Honda Diagnostics
18617752
Type Your Honda Question Here...
Ron Z. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

2005 Honda Accord: inspection..OBD..I was failed for emissions

Customer Question

After an inspection sticker check for my 2005 Honda Accord I have 4 OBD system Diag Trouble Codes, P2185, P2183, P0111, P0128. I was failed for emissions. What do the codes mean
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Honda
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 2 years ago.
Welcome to JustAnswer.com! My name is DriveFast71(Ron) and I will do my best to answer all of your questions completely and accurately.


Is this the 4-cylinder or the 6-cylinder?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

4, it's the cheapest version (not even power locks).

 

Expert:  Ron Z. replied 2 years ago.
ok. All of these codes are related.

DTC P2183: ECT Sensor 2 Circuit Range/Performance Problem
DTC P2185: ECT Sensor 2 Circuit High Voltage
DTC P0128: Cooling System Malfunction
DTC P0111: IAT Sensor Circuit Range/Performance Problem - Although this code is pointing to a fault with the IAT sensor, on this vehicle, a loose connection or faulty ECT can also set this code.

So, basically, there is a fault with ECT (Engine Coolant Temp Sensor) #2. It's located on the driver's side the engine, under the Throttle Body. Inspect the wire harness and electrical connector for any loose or borken wires. If the visual inspection checks ok, replacing the ECT should solve all 4 codes.
graphic
Ron Z., - Honda Tech -
Category: Honda
Satisfied Customers: 14208
Experience: 18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Honda Diagnostics
Ron Z. and 8 other Honda Specialists are ready to help you
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 2 years ago.
Wait! Hang on! I clicked the 6-cylinder by mistake!! The ECT #2 on the 4-cylinder is at the bottom of the radiator. Best access is from under the vehicle! My apologies!

Attachments are only available to registered users.

Register Here

Attachments are only available to registered users.

Register Here

Attachments are only available to registered users.

Register Here
View Full Image

Attachments are only available to registered users.

Register Here
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Thanks,I'm in Boston, about how much would it cost to replace the ECT#2?
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 2 years ago.
Very sorry about that. I'm looking at the image, and I said to myself "why are there 6 injectors on that 4-cylinder image I just sent?!" - DOH! Had my resource guide set to 6-cylinder. Been a long day. Sorry.

The ECT sells for around $38 and the labor time guide calls for .5 hour to complete the job. Labor rates vary from shop to shop, so what you pay for labor will effect the bottom line.

(I'm down here in RI - Go PATS!!)

Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Thanks!! That's great news. GOOOO Pats!!!
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 2 years ago.
HAHAHA! Glad I could help! Have a great day!

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you very much for saving my daughter and her family a lot of money on her Honda. You are definitely on my list for future help. Thanks, again. Fred USA
< Last | Next >
  • Thank you very much for saving my daughter and her family a lot of money on her Honda. You are definitely on my list for future help. Thanks, again. Fred USA
  • I just heard from my mechanic. You were right...a $45.00 job. THANK YOU!! Your response was received in less than 10 minutes!! Linda B. USA
  • Your answers were clear and the diagrams were perfect. Dealer wanted $87 for an hour of labor and even I did it in 15 minutes. Ed USA
  • HONDA PLATINUM was great. I really appreciate his help. I was ready to trade my new Honda until he told me to wait until I got 3,000 miles on it and my gas mileage would get much better. Summer USA
  • I took the Power Steering O-Ring service bulletin linked from JustAnswer to my Acura dealer, and not only did they no-charge the o-ring, they also replaced the power steering pump at no cost. Gary R Stevenson Ranch, CA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Kyle N.

    Honda Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    3627
    Honda Dealer Tech, ASE Master Auto Tech
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/hondatech/2010-05-03_025935_resized_work_pic.jpg Kyle N.'s Avatar

    Kyle N.

    Honda Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    3627
    Honda Dealer Tech, ASE Master Auto Tech
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/hondacb77/2008-10-27_165606_me3.jpg John G.'s Avatar

    John G.

    Honda Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    2643
    Dealership tech since 1982. ASE and Honda Master Technician.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/muddyford/2012-6-13_1204_1.64x64.png Chris (aka-Moose)'s Avatar

    Chris (aka-Moose)

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    204
    16 years of experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FO/fordguy4u/2011-12-17_222940_HPIM1257.64x64.JPG Ron's Avatar

    Ron

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    175
    ASE Certified Tech 34 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EU/eurotec/2012-6-11_13153_mpjaphoto.64x64.JPG Marty's Avatar

    Marty

    Bosch Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    113
    Bosch Certified Master Technician
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AM/amedee/2013-10-24_23656_Amedee1.64x64.jpg Amedee's Avatar

    Amedee

    ASE Master Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1112
    ASE Master Technician advanced level specialist. Wisconsin certified emissions state inspector
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TH/thebesthonda/2011-1-15_04510_Photo022009005.64x64.jpg thebesthonda's Avatar

    thebesthonda

    ASE MasterTechnician

    Satisfied Customers:

    2299
    26 years experience