How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ron Z. Your Own Question

Ron Z.
Ron Z., - Honda Tech -
Category: Honda
Satisfied Customers: 14572
Experience:  18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Honda Diagnostics
18617752
Type Your Honda Question Here...
Ron Z. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

99 Accord 2.3 ULEV.Failed emission inspection with P1166.

Resolved Question:

99 Accord 2.3 ULEV.
Failed emission inspection with P1166. They said code is "Manufacturer Controlled Fuel and Air Metering" and is related to the intake. On the internet all Honda P1166 codes I find seem to be O2 related: "HO2S Heater System Elect" or "Air/Fuel Ration Sensor Heater System". Which way do I go?
Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: Honda
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 5 years ago.

The P1166 is the code for a faulty heater in the Heated Oxygen Sensor (aka A/F Sensor). The oxygen sensor has a built in heater that the computer will command on to get the sensor to normal operating conditions within a matter of seconds when engine temp is cold. Replacing the Oxygen Sensor Bank1 Sensor1 should solve your problem. This sensor is located in the front of the engine:

graphic

Customer: replied 5 years ago.
Thanks, XXXXX XXXXX my research pointed to. Autozone wants $99 for a Bocsh sensor. Honda dealer $235 for a new one. I found a Denso OEM O2 sensor at autopartswarehouse.com for $53 (list price is $225). Any thoughts?
http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/sku/Honda/Accord/Denso/Oxygen_Sensor/1999/NP2344621.html
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 5 years ago.
Actually, i've used the Bosch many times with excellent results. Obviously, the Honda dealer part is just outrageous and actually isn't that much different than the Bosch. The Denso i'm sure is just as good, however, i'm a big fan of buying parts from a person- this way if you get a defect, you have an actual person to go and deal with. My advise, buy the Bosch, get a good part, good price, and get the job done right the first time.
Customer: replied 5 years ago.
After I intall a new sensor and clear the code, as long as the code doesn't come back then the O2 sensor is working properly? How long do I need to wait to verify the problem is fixed? If the code comes back do I assume the new O2 sensor is faulty?
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 5 years ago.
After the new sensor is in, and you clear the code, the usual "drive-cycle" for a Honda is roughly 50-75 miles of city/highway driving. (I'm an Inspector in Rhode Island, and I usually tell my customers to drive it a few days like normal). If the light stays off after that, you're golden. If it does come back, have the codes re-read, and if its the same code you may have a defect sensor. However, like i said- the Bosch have a very high success rate, you'll be fine. Think positive!
Customer: replied 5 years ago.
Can I clear the code myself without going back to garage?
Expert:  Ron Z. replied 5 years ago.
Absolutely. While in the process of changing the Oxygen Sensor, remove the "NEG" cable from the battery. By the time you have replaced the sensor, and re-connect the "NEG" cable, that will clear the codes from the on board computer. Make sure you have a working key fob for your alarm system and a radio code, if equipped, as these systems sometimes reset as well with the "NEG" off.
Ron Z., - Honda Tech -
Category: Honda
Satisfied Customers: 14572
Experience: 18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Honda Diagnostics
Ron Z. and other Honda Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you very much for saving my daughter and her family a lot of money on her Honda. You are definitely on my list for future help. Thanks, again. Fred USA
< Last | Next >
  • Thank you very much for saving my daughter and her family a lot of money on her Honda. You are definitely on my list for future help. Thanks, again. Fred USA
  • I just heard from my mechanic. You were right...a $45.00 job. THANK YOU!! Your response was received in less than 10 minutes!! Linda B. USA
  • Your answers were clear and the diagrams were perfect. Dealer wanted $87 for an hour of labor and even I did it in 15 minutes. Ed USA
  • HONDA PLATINUM was great. I really appreciate his help. I was ready to trade my new Honda until he told me to wait until I got 3,000 miles on it and my gas mileage would get much better. Summer USA
  • I took the Power Steering O-Ring service bulletin linked from JustAnswer to my Acura dealer, and not only did they no-charge the o-ring, they also replaced the power steering pump at no cost. Gary R Stevenson Ranch, CA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Kyle N.

    Honda Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    3627
    Honda Dealer Tech, ASE Master Auto Tech
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/hondatech/2010-05-03_025935_resized_work_pic.jpg Kyle N.'s Avatar

    Kyle N.

    Honda Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    3627
    Honda Dealer Tech, ASE Master Auto Tech
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/hondacb77/2008-10-27_165606_me3.jpg John G.'s Avatar

    John G.

    Honda Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    2643
    Dealership tech since 1982. ASE and Honda Master Technician.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/muddyford/2012-6-13_1204_1.64x64.png Chris (aka-Moose)'s Avatar

    Chris (aka-Moose)

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    204
    16 years of experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FO/fordguy4u/2011-12-17_222940_HPIM1257.64x64.JPG Ron's Avatar

    Ron

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    175
    ASE Certified Tech 34 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EU/eurotec/2012-6-11_13153_mpjaphoto.64x64.JPG Marty's Avatar

    Marty

    Bosch Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    113
    Bosch Certified Master Technician
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AM/amedee/2013-10-24_23656_Amedee1.64x64.jpg Amedee's Avatar

    Amedee

    ASE Master Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1112
    ASE Master Technician advanced level specialist. Wisconsin certified emissions state inspector
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TH/thebesthonda/2011-1-15_04510_Photo022009005.64x64.jpg thebesthonda's Avatar

    thebesthonda

    ASE MasterTechnician

    Satisfied Customers:

    2299
    26 years experience
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Mechanic for Honda
Ron Z.
Ron Z.
Mechanic for Honda
14572 Satisfied Customers
18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Honda Diagnostics