How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Susan Athena Your Own Question

Susan Athena
Susan Athena, Professional w/Adv. Degree
Category: Homework
Satisfied Customers: 4331
Experience:  10+ yrs teaching & tutoring. AP essay grader. 2 masters degrees. English, IT, business.
12809769
Type Your Homework Question Here...
Susan Athena is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

What are the strengths and limitations of using record reviews

Resolved Question:

What are the strengths and limitations of using record reviews for data collection in research?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Homework
Expert:  Susan Athena replied 2 years ago.
Hi. Thanks for your question. Does this refer to a particular field, such as healthcare?

Kind regards,
Susan
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Yes it pertains to healthcare

Expert:  Susan Athena replied 2 years ago.
Thank you for your question!

Your custom-written answer is below.

Kind regards,
Susan

The advantage of using record reviews for healthcare research is the quantity and quality of data available. Rather than asking busy healthcare providers to collect extra data for research, the data is already available in the form of medical records. Therefore more patients can be sampled and a more accurate conclusion can be reached. In addition, medical coding makes the chart review relatively easy. If we plan to rely on the coding as correct, then we can simply review the charts for the particular codes of interest.

The disadvantage is that the data isn't always complete. For example, some minor issues (e.g. minor reactions, minor incidents not requiring intervention) may not be charted. The researcher may be limited to research questions that are expected to be charted very accurately. For example, it wouldn't be appropriate for studies of how family dynamics affect treatment plans, because reactions of family members would generally not be part of the medical record.

In addition, the relevant data may be difficult to find because it's not indexed. Reviewing thousands of charts to find patients who showed a particular symptom can be challenging. The use of electronic medical records can make this process much easier, because symptoms and treatments are often listed/indexed by code in an information system or database.
Susan Athena, Professional w/Adv. Degree
Category: Homework
Satisfied Customers: 4331
Experience: 10+ yrs teaching & tutoring. AP essay grader. 2 masters degrees. English, IT, business.
Susan Athena and 7 other Homework Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Do you think there is so much misconduct in the research community? If yes? How about misconduct that lead you to go with a certain way with treatment that was not of scientific merit status?
Will training and education in research ethics help reduce the rate of misconduct in science?
Expert:  Susan Athena replied 2 years ago.
Hi. Thanks for your question. Do you need references, or is this more of an opinion question?

Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Need references please you, can also give an opinion, you are of great help
Expert:  Susan Athena replied 2 years ago.
THIS ANSWER IS LOCKED!
You can view this answer by clicking here to Register or Login and paying $3.
If you've already paid for this answer, simply Login.
Susan Athena, Professional w/Adv. Degree
Category: Homework
Satisfied Customers: 4331
Experience: 10+ yrs teaching & tutoring. AP essay grader. 2 masters degrees. English, IT, business.
Susan Athena and 7 other Homework Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Manal Elkhoshkhany

    Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    4522
    More than 5000 online tutoring sessions.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/BusinessTutor/2012-2-2_115741_Kouki2.64x64.jpg Manal Elkhoshkhany's Avatar

    Manal Elkhoshkhany

    Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    4522
    More than 5000 online tutoring sessions.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ComputersGuru/2010-02-13_051118_Photo41.JPG LogicPro's Avatar

    LogicPro

    Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    3458
    Expert in Java C++ C C# VB Javascript Design SQL HTML
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/lindaus/2012-6-10_04811_IMG20120609164157.64x64.jpg Linda_us's Avatar

    Linda_us

    Finance, Accounts & Homework Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    3124
    Post Graduate Diploma in Management (MBA)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/chooser77/2009-08-18_162025_Chris.jpg Chris M.'s Avatar

    Chris M.

    M.S.W. Social Work

    Satisfied Customers:

    2385
    Master's Degree, strong math and writing skills, experience in one-on-one tutoring (college English)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JawaadAhmed/2009-6-27_12137_SIs_SHadi.jpg F. Naz's Avatar

    F. Naz

    Chartered Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    1988
    Experience with chartered accountancy
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JK/jkcpa/2011-1-16_182614_jkcpa.64x64.jpg Bizhelp's Avatar

    Bizhelp

    CPA

    Satisfied Customers:

    1876
    Bachelors Degree and CPA with Accounting work experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/avremote/photoa.jpg Seanna's Avatar

    Seanna

    Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    1781
    3,000+ satisfied customers, all topics, A+ work
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Tutor
Susan Athena
Susan Athena
Research analyst, tutor
975 Satisfied Customers
10+ yrs teaching & tutoring. AP essay grader. 2 masters degrees. English, IT, business.