How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Naturel Rivera Your Own Question

Naturel Rivera
Naturel Rivera, Academic Writer
Category: Homework
Satisfied Customers: 10
Experience:  BA in Spanish, MA in the Old Testament. Eight (8) yrs. in academia, 7 mos. as pro academic writer.
19035116
Type Your Homework Question Here...
Naturel Rivera is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

watch and review the movie Erin Brockovich about the law and

Resolved Question:

watch and review the movie Erin Brockovich about the law and apply the issues we have covered this semester. For example, a movie about crime would require the reviewer to discuss some of the crimes, define them and discuss whether the movie accurately included the elements as reflected in the text.

The paper is to be no more than 2 pages double spaced with 12 point font and one inch margins.

I need this back by next saturday night. 06/05/09
Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: Homework
Expert:  Naturel Rivera replied 5 years ago.





















                               Erin Brockovich:
               An Analysis from a Legal Perspective



















     Erin Brockovich is a movie about the woman of same name, played by Julia Roberts. Brockovich heads up the impromptu legal research team at the law office of Ed Masry, a sharp but understaffed small-time lawyer in California’s suburb of Hinckley. Brockovich and Masry uncover a long litany of illnesses that their plaintiffs suffer, due to a large company’s negligence which employs most of the town of Hinckley and its surrounding environs. The main premises of the movie include the three ideas of negligence, demurs, and binding arbitration.

The negligent company, PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric), knowingly allowed the chemical substance hexavalent chromium to slip into the ground water of Hinckley for 14 years (all the while telling the townspeople that hexavalent chromium was good for them). This concept of negligence includes the fact that an entity must be acting in an improper manner according to how one of the entity’s parties would be normally treated. Additionally, an entity that is considered negligent is not acting with the duty of care required of itself.

Ultimately, in order to see if they had a case, Brockovich and Masry go to a hearing to file complaints with the court. PG&E submits demurs on all 84 complaints, basically denying that they have any fiscal responsibility--when in actuality their financial responsibility to the people hurt by their policies range between $50 and $400 million total. The judge sides with the plaintiffs in the hearing, stating that he was disturbed by the fact that there was evidence which suggested PG&E contaminated the groundwater and then told the people of Hinckley that hexavalent chromium was a beneficial substance.   In the end, the judge warned PG&E that they should get ready to go to trial.

PG&E lawyers come to Masry’s firm offering a settlement of $20 million in a lump sum for the 634 plaintiffs who are involved in the would-be class-action lawsuit. Brockovich counters that $20 million is insufficient considering the suffering that the people of Hinckley have gone through, and it would not be nearly enough money to give each plaintiff a fair settlement. At this point there is still no smoking-gun document which ties PG&E in Hinckely to the corporate PG&E office headquarters.
In the midst of obtaining signatures from the required 90% of plaintiffs for binding arbitration, Masry explains to the plaintiffs at a town hall meeting that binding arbitration is the the best way to get everyone some money quickly. Getting into a lawsuit with PG&E could be dragged out for years, and then the plaintiffs would never see their money, some of them being too sick. Masry explains that binding arbitration is decided by a judge, not a jury, and that there is no appeal. Ultimately, Brockovich and Masry are still short by over 100 signed documents from the plaintiffs. So, Brockovich goes door-to-door obtaining the required signatures.
It is around this point that Brockovich meets one man, a Charles Embry, while she is picking up coffee from a local bar. Embry starts talking to Brockovich and mentions he has information about PG&E’s activities. Embry gives Brockovich a document stating that PG&E corporate knew about the hexavalent chromium being harmful since 1966, effectively linking PG&E in Hinckley to PG&E corporate offices.

In the end, a judge awards $333 million to the plaintiffs. PG&E resolves to line all of its ponds. Erin Brockovich explains the concepts of negligence, demurring, and binding arbitration.

Customer: replied 5 years ago.

I will accept but want to know if this is your work or copied from the internet. We have to turn our assignments in to a site called Turitin which can determine is something is totally from the net...you must have 75% your own material...let me know. Otherwise this looks great.

 

Customer/p>
Expert:  Naturel Rivera replied 5 years ago.
THIS ANSWER IS LOCKED!
You can view this answer by clicking here to Register or Login and paying $3.
If you've already paid for this answer, simply Login.
Naturel Rivera, Academic Writer
Category: Homework
Satisfied Customers: 10
Experience: BA in Spanish, MA in the Old Testament. Eight (8) yrs. in academia, 7 mos. as pro academic writer.
Naturel Rivera and 6 other Homework Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Manal Elkhoshkhany

    Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    4520
    More than 5000 online tutoring sessions.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/BusinessTutor/2012-2-2_115741_Kouki2.64x64.jpg Manal Elkhoshkhany's Avatar

    Manal Elkhoshkhany

    Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    4520
    More than 5000 online tutoring sessions.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/lindaus/2012-6-10_04811_IMG20120609164157.64x64.jpg Linda_us's Avatar

    Linda_us

    Finance, Accounts & Homework Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    3121
    Post Graduate Diploma in Management (MBA)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ComputersGuru/2010-02-13_051118_Photo41.JPG LogicPro's Avatar

    LogicPro

    Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    3035
    Expert in Java C++ C C# VB Javascript Design SQL HTML
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/lanis/2009-4-1_233717_phput9xef_c1pm.jpg Lani S.'s Avatar

    Lani S.

    Tutor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2457
    Registered Nurse, Internet Researcher, Private Tutor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/chooser77/2009-08-18_162025_Chris.jpg Chris M.'s Avatar

    Chris M.

    M.S.W. Social Work

    Satisfied Customers:

    2341
    Master's Degree, strong math and writing skills, experience in one-on-one tutoring (college English)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JawaadAhmed/2009-6-27_12137_SIs_SHadi.jpg F. Naz's Avatar

    F. Naz

    Chartered Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    1975
    Experience with chartered accountancy
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JK/jkcpa/2011-1-16_182614_jkcpa.64x64.jpg Bizhelp's Avatar

    Bizhelp

    CPA

    Satisfied Customers:

    1873
    Bachelors Degree and CPA with Accounting work experience