How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Martin Your Own Question

Martin
Martin, Electrical Engineer
Category: Home Improvement
Satisfied Customers: 4180
Experience:  Design, construct, fix and grow stuff around and in the home.
14666028
Type Your Home Improvement Question Here...
Martin is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hi. Id like to ask an experts opinion on three things about

Customer Question

Hi. Id like to ask an expert's opinion on three things about my bathroom:

Does this curtain look good and go with the bathroom style? If not which type would be best? http://www.flickr.com/photos/96982319@N05/8975649357/
What type of rug should I get? Do the rugs around the toilet look good?
On this picture there is an area right above the tiles where there is a crack on the wall. I want to put a 9 or 10 inch tall wall paper from one side to the other. Which wallpaper would you recommend me? http://www.flickr.com/photos/96982319@N05/8976839068/

Thanks
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Home Improvement
Expert:  Phil replied 1 year ago.

Welcome back!.

I have been answering a few of your questions. I hope you find the answers useful.

I looked at the photo's, the room looks pretty good, Any wall paper edging will not look good in that situation, the white walls are best just as they are.



On these color match and decorating idea questions however it is by far the best to go to the home decorating retail stores and get idea's from there... from a distance it is very very easy to pick the wrong things and the wrong colors. You can end up with a very messed up look that way.

Very slight differences in color can make a huge difference, sometimes even ruin a project. What looks good in a photo may actually look very bad to many people when they are in the room...

Lighting has a huge effect. Fluorescent lighting can absolutely ruin the colors in a room, there are many different kinds of bulbs you can buy.
some bulbs make blues look green, and reds look orange or pink. so that the room looks worse when the lights are on.

The basic rule for rental property of all types is to paint the walls an off white color... and keep the accessories in simple and in pastel colors.. nothing extreme and not too much variety in the colors. And pay close attention to anything that looks dirty... all such areas must be cleaned up or replaced.

If you stay with whites and off whites, and maybe an accessory or two that is match to the floor tile or bathub etc you will be best off. just 2 or 3 colors to a room, including the floor and wall coverings.

Let me know what you think, we can go from there.

Phil



Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thank you Phil for the answer! I thought of going to a store and asking them but they would also have to rely on pictures.
I will absolutely rank you positively since you gave me good suggestions, but Id like to ask you to leave the question for another expert to answer that might have decorating tips.

Thanks
Expert:  Martin replied 1 year ago.
Hello again.

As for the paper, because of the humidity i really recommend just plastering the cracks and repaint in white to keep the good luminance of the room.

As for a rugs, i do not advise getting those shaped in "U" going around the toilet. They can hide water leak and some male guest are not good shooter and can pee on it from time to time. You can get a small rectangular one if you want to not have the feet cold on the ceramic.

As for the shower curtain, this one does not fit very well as far as color and the amount of light it allow to let pass trough. It is not bad (and i would personally tolerate it) but a translucent one with darker blue motifs than the tiles would look good (or silvery motifs to go with the pharmacy and pipe metallic color).
Martin, Electrical Engineer
Category: Home Improvement
Satisfied Customers: 4180
Experience: Design, construct, fix and grow stuff around and in the home.
Martin and 6 other Home Improvement Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
< Last | Next >
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
  • Thank you for the expeditious answer. It's good to know you're out there and awake in the wee hours when I finally have time to ask questions about my Jenn Air. Jean Riverhead, NY
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • The Home Smithy

    Home Builder

    Satisfied Customers:

    2002
    #1 Home Improvement Expert 30+ years experience
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TH/TheHomeSmithy/2011-8-13_11146_homesmithy.500x500.64x64.jpg The Home Smithy's Avatar

    The Home Smithy

    Home Builder

    Satisfied Customers:

    2002
    #1 Home Improvement Expert 30+ years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BS/bshull17/2011-2-11_04125_japic.64x64.JPG Brian's Avatar

    Brian

    Architect

    Satisfied Customers:

    1967
    Licensed Architect- 16 years, L.E.E.D. AP
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ST/Steve555/2013-6-14_144343_Depositphotos4247517S.64x64.jpg Steve G.'s Avatar

    Steve G.

    Handyman

    Satisfied Customers:

    135
    VP of electronic repair company and home theater advisor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ER/Erdaram/2011-6-21_14724_ANIEric4Pics.64x64.gif Eric M. Bright's Avatar

    Eric M. Bright

    We Don't Comprehend the Word Can't!

    Satisfied Customers:

    1734
    I've been been doing things for my clients that others have said cant be done for over a 1/4 Century
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/rich03dungo/2010-3-17_101556_tshirt2.jpg Rich's Avatar

    Rich

    Home Improvement Enthusiast

    Satisfied Customers:

    674
    Over 35 years construction and home maintenance experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AL/alumalite/2012-5-10_234018_shutterstock506249951forJA500.64x64.jpg Phil's Avatar

    Phil

    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    409
    Retired contractor, 51 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JE/jerrymassie/2011-1-15_45937_1111055.64x64.JPG Jerry's Avatar

    Jerry

    hearth products

    Satisfied Customers:

    317
    owned and operated stove retail and service 12 yrs
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Home Improvement Expert
Martin
Martin
Home Improvement Expert
4180 Satisfied Customers
Design, construct, fix and grow stuff around and in the home.