How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Dr. Arun Phophalia Your Own Question
Dr. Arun Phophalia
Dr. Arun Phophalia, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 31330
Experience:  MBBS, MS (General Surgery), Fellowship in Sports Medicine
Type Your Health Question Here...
Dr. Arun Phophalia is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I would like a second opinion on my mri results, no

Customer Question

Hi, I would like a second opinion on my mri results
JA: Have you seen a doctor about this yet? What medications are you taking?
Customer: no medications .I saw a physician and a psychiatrist with both giving different opinions about mri
JA: Anything else in your medical history you think the doctor should know?
Customer: no
Submitted: 3 months ago.
Category: Health
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

I am Dr. Arun and will be helping you today.

Could you please write down the MRI report.

Thank you.

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Hi DrNot sure what you mean ,how do I write down MRI report
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

You have films or report?

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Could I possibly have an email address to send results
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

You can paste them here on this thread. You may do it as following;
1. Click the paperclip icon
2. Click the Browse icon
3. Click the Browse button
4. Select your file and click Open
5. Click OK
6. Click Insert
7. Click Save Changes on this page

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
I do have a CD with the results but it is actually at home and I am at work . What I can remember is prominent Robin Virchow spaces ,choroid plexus cyst , early atrophy
Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Is there a way I can do this tomorrow .
Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Hi DrStill waiting reply
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

Yes, sure we can discuss it tomorrow when you have further details.

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Thanks.appreciate it .
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

Very welcome.

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Hi Dr
Please see copy of report
Customer: replied 3 months ago.
My symptoms when I went to see specialist physician was blurred vision in the right eye ,tremor in my right hand . excess saliva production . I thought I was diabetic but because I fell late May 2016 ,he suggested a MRI. I was also suffering with memory loss and slurred speech.My blood results did come back normal.I was not diabetic ,my cardiac results and cholesterol ,thyroid and cortisol was all normal.
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

Looking at the report. I would answer you in 5-10 minutes.

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
I tried to send you a full copy of scan with pics but system will not allow it . I have sent report of scan.
Customer: replied 3 months ago.
No problem ,will await your response . Thanks
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

You are very welcome.

You have maxillary sinusitis as well as two other sinuses (sphenoid and ethomoid) too seem to be involved and all of your symptoms can be explained on this basis.

Prominence of external CSF space is nothing significant and is age related change.

Basal ganglia change (small punctate foci of low signal) too is considered normal in your age group.

Prominent Virchow Robin space are essentially normal and are physiological.

Following would be the treatment protocol for sinusitis;

1) Nasal steroid; decrease inflammation and open up obstruction.

2) Oral decongestants such as pseudoephedrine are often helpful.

3) Topical decongestant for short duration.

4) Antihistamines; use only if allergic.

5) Steam vaporizer

6) Eucalyptus oil may help

7) Nasal saline irrigation

8) Vitamin C

9) Antibiotics; only if nasal culture is positive.

For treating it naturally; steam inhalation, nasal saline water (salt water) irrigation (can be done by Neti-pot), Vitamin C, Eucalyptus oil inhalation can be done. Following can increase the body immunity so help in overcoming the sinus infection;

1) Omega 3; Fish oil capsule and flaxseed oil capsule.

2) Ginkgo Biloba

3) Zinc 30 mg.

You may also be looked for GERD, which has increasingly been implicated in causing or exacerbating chronic sinusitis. The exact relationships and mechanisms are presently a matter of speculation, though.

Consulting an ENT (ear, nose throat) specialist would be prudent.

It is privilege assisting you.

Please let me know if you have further queries or unanswered questions.

Please consider a positive rating if this interaction has been satisfactory, as this is the only way we experts are credited and compensated for the time and work. You are not charged again for giving a rating.

Thank you.

Wishing you all the very best in life.

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Hi Drwould sinusitis cause memory loss ,visual loss and a tremor on y right hand
Expert:  Dr. Arun Phophalia replied 3 months ago.

Sphenoid and ethmoid sinuses are close to the eye and an acute infection may affect the vision for the transient duation.

If all the three symptoms occured simultaneously in a bout; you may consider a diagnosis of transient neurological attack (TNA), also called as transient ischemic attack (TIA). You would need a colored doppler study of carotid arteries (neck arteries which supply blood to brain).

The transient tremors are usually also associated with any urgent medical issue.

There are variety of health related risk factors which can be attributed for it off and on memory issues;

1) High Blood pressure; uncontrolled blood pressure has been implicated in memory problems.

2) High blood glucose

3) Increasing Age

4) Serum levels of pro-inflammatory cytokines; Higher levels of interleukin-6 (IL-6) and C-reactive protein (CRP) affect the memory.

5) Past history of any serious medical illness.

6) Depression

7) Sex; female sex have more memory problems than males if the drugs/medications, age, education, ethnicity factors are same.

8) Certain medications may be associated with the transient or short term memory problems.

In nut shell; the loss of memory or small cognitive problems usually are dependent on multiple factors some of which may not be controllable.

Following measures may be helpful;

1) Avoid multitasking

2) Avoid noisy environment.

3) Sleep for 8 hours.

4) If you are taking any medicines, ask your doctor if any of them may be affecting memory.

5) Reduce stress and anxiety, if any.

6) Follow routines, such as leaving your car keys, glasses, and cell phone in the same place every day.

7) Physical fitness and mental fitness go together, so walk and exercise everyday.

8) Mediterranean-type diets like whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and healthy fats from fish, nuts, and healthy oils helps promote heart health and may also lessen the risk of memory and thinking problems.

8) Eating several servings of fruits and vegetables can also protect memory.

Best wishes,
It was my pleasure to help you.
If I have answered all your questions, Please rate my response Excellent (click on the 5th star).
Please bookmark my profile for fast, reliable authentic answers!
This is the link to my profile: