How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Chip Your Own Question

Dr. Chip
Dr. Chip, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 23640
Experience:  Over 20 yrs of Family Practice
18722459
Type Your Health Question Here...
Dr. Chip is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Dr chip. My dr says all my health complaints are somatic

Customer Question

Dr chip. My dr says all my health complaints are somatic
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Health
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Which doctor and what did he include in the term "health complaints?"
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
My stomach pain, my pain i had when my cyst ruptured. This is the dr that wanted me to start prasozin
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
And why is he saying that since you have had some positive tests?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I dont know. Its in my chart. L
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Any other comments besides that?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Just that all my complaints are somatic. Which i dont agree with
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Neither do I
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Do
You think a majority of my complaints are somatic
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No, although I think your perception of how much pain you have sometimes may be elevated with your emotional problems--pain always seems worse with depression and anxiety
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I see
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
What else?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I talked to my dr. He doesnt want to lower the dose of restoril
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Doesn't make any sense
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Didnt say it did
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
We're chatting again
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
It really bothers me that the dr thinks my symptoms are somatic
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
So talk to him about that
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
And say what. Not only does he say i have borderline personality he says i have dependent personality too
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Which doctor exactly are we talking about?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
My regular dr
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Well, since he's not a psychiatrist I don't think he has the qualifications for giving you those diagnoses
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
You have talked to me a lot do you agree
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No, I don't think so but one can't nail down a diagnosis like that in a format like this
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I will talk to you later
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
OK
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
So im on another round of augmetin 600-125 for 14 days. For sinus infection
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
I read that the first time. Your point here?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
That was kind of snotty. Did i do something to make you mad?
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No but I didn't see any reason for you even to have brought up the Augmentin--there are some times when you post something and I have no idea why you did
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Im sorry please dont be mad
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Not mad but let's get back on track
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Ok. I havent told the teens where i was while i was in the hospital
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No real need to unless they'd understand and support you--and maybe if the thought ever occurs to you again you should think about them before you act on it
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Im not a bad person for trying it
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Never said you were--just a suggestion on how you might avert doing it again
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
If someone tries it are they more likrly to try it again
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
You have
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Are you sure you are not disappointed in me
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Not at all. You haven't done anything to make me disappointed in you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes i did
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Only in your mind and you look at things differently from me
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I let marty repeatedly hit me and force me to have sex. And then i do things like i did on sunday. How can you not view me as a disappointment
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
I just don't look at it like that because I understand why that happens and it really isn't your fault. I would say that if you haven't or don't talk to a lawyer about Marty that would disappoint me
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
It is my fault
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No comment--you know I don't agree with that
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I dont see my therapist for 2 more weeks how do i work on getting better
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
I suppose you haven't seen a lawyer? Will you call your friends and get together? Have you don't any more work on the self esteem thing?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I have an appt scheduled with a lawyer on the 23. I may do something with my friends. I havent done no more on the worksheets
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Well one out of three isn't too bad. The others are my suggestions
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
What do you think of trazodone
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Be specific when you ask me a question like that
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Do you thunk its better than restoril. Is it less addictive
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Yes--I'd prefer that
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Why would you prefer it over restoril
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Less addicting but still you shouldn't use any sleep aid for more than a few nights at a time. But we're straying off course here
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I dont know what to say that would be on course. When i feel like i felt on sunday i should just go to the er instead of doing what i did right
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Yes if you can't get in touch with your therapist
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I can only get in touch with him from 8-5 monday through friday. My dr told me that if someone takes restoril they can go though DTs like an alcoholic does
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
The same one that prescribed it for you? And, by the way, does he know what you tried to do?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
No my reg dr didnt prescribe it for me. I was talking to this dr i was working for about prazosin. Mentioned to him i wasnt sleeping. He rxd it for me. My pcp was the one who mentioned dts. And no they dont know what i tried to do. Why do you ask
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Well any doctor that did know what you did would be at least reprimanded by the Board of Medicine for a lack of medical judgement. And yes there is withdrawal from Restoril if it's used for a long time and then stopped cold turkey but why are we going back to that subject?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Im confused. Why would they be reprimanded? Ill drop the subject after this
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Simple--you know what you tried to do. No doctor should be prescribing you anything that could potentially be used to overdose
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Is sleep important
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Yes but it shouldn't be induced with medication for more than a few nights at a time
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Do you not trust me to not do what i did sunday again? Can i take medication during the week but not the weekend
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
I wasn't hinting at that. It's OK for no more than five days but since you're on what I think his too high a dose, you're going to be groggy during the day whenever you've taken it the night before
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
It makes me feel drugged and hazy
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Like I said, it's too high a dose
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Ive been tkaing it simr
Momday shouldnt i ne use to it by now
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No and that's the wrong way to look at it anyway--too high a dose is too high a dose and since it's the weekend you don't need it for the next two days
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Why would the dr figr me a high dose
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No idea but you should have been put on the 15 mg. Enough for tonight--my bed time and you don't need it tonight or tomorrow night
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I sleep for like an hourvthen am up. This has happened all night
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Without the Restoril?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Ya. But then i took it at like 2 this am and i was just up every hour or so
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Just don't take it again until say Monday night. We really need to close this page
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Last question ad then ill close this page. Why not until monday
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
You just need to break up the pattern like I said before--otherwise you'll get dependent on the Restoril
Dr. Chip, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 23640
Experience: Over 20 yrs of Family Practice
Dr. Chip and 5 other Health Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
< Last | Next >
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
  • I thank-you so much! It really helped to have this information and confirmation. We will watch her carefully and get her in for the examination and US right away if things do not improve. God bless you as well! Claudia Albuquerque, NM
  • Outstanding response time less than 6 minutes. Answered the question professionally and with a great deal of compassion. Kevin Beaverton, OR
  • Suggested diagnosis was what I hoped and will take this info to my doctor's appointment next week.
    I feel better already! Thank you.
    Elanor Tracy, CA
  • Thank you to the Physician who answered my question today. The answer was far more informative than what I got from the Physicians I saw in person for my problem. Julie Lockesburg, AR
  • You have been more help than you know. I seriously don't know what my sisters situation would be today if you had not gone above and beyond just answering my questions. John and Stefanie Tucson, AZ
  • I have been dealing with an extremely serious health crisis for over three years, and one your physicians asked me more questions, gave me more answers and encouragement than a dozen different doctors who have been treating me!! Janet V Phoenix, AZ
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Nurse Milli, RN

    Nurse (RN)

    Satisfied Customers:

    4043
    20 years experience in many areas of Nursing. Both Hospital and Private Practice experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NU/nursescare4u/2013-3-31_03429_JApic.64x64.jpg Nurse Milli, RN's Avatar

    Nurse Milli, RN

    Nurse (RN)

    Satisfied Customers:

    4043
    20 years experience in many areas of Nursing. Both Hospital and Private Practice experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    102
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    5622
    Emergency Medicine and Family Practice for over 26 years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/drphophalia/2007-08-23_095626_dr._arun_phophalia.jpg Dr. Arun Phophalia's Avatar

    Dr. Arun Phophalia

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    17025
    MBBS, MS (General Surgery), Fellowship in Sports Medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VA/VANP/2012-6-6_235535_Skye2.64x64.jpg A. Schuyler, NP's Avatar

    A. Schuyler, NP

    Nurse Practitioner

    Satisfied Customers:

    12170
    Board Certified NP, MS, RN. Private practice & hospitalist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    10029
    Over 20 yrs of Family Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/neurosurg/2009-10-06_120923_profile.jpg Dr. Mark's Avatar

    Dr. Mark

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    6234
    U.S. Physician/Surgeon in Neurosurgery
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Health Professional
Dr. Chip
Dr. Chip
Medical Director
11355 Satisfied Customers
Over 20 yrs of Family Practice