How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Dr. Chip Your Own Question
Dr. Chip
Dr. Chip, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 29374
Experience:  Over 20 yrs of Family Practice
18722459
Type Your Health Question Here...
Dr. Chip is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Dr chip. My dr says all my health complaints are somatic

This answer was rated:

Dr chip. My dr says all my health complaints are somatic
Which doctor and what did he include in the term "health complaints?"
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
My stomach pain, my pain i had when my cyst ruptured. This is the dr that wanted me to start prasozin
And why is he saying that since you have had some positive tests?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I dont know. Its in my chart. L
Any other comments besides that?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Just that all my complaints are somatic. Which i dont agree with
Neither do I
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Do
You think a majority of my complaints are somatic
No, although I think your perception of how much pain you have sometimes may be elevated with your emotional problems--pain always seems worse with depression and anxiety
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I see
What else?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I talked to my dr. He doesnt want to lower the dose of restoril
Doesn't make any sense
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Didnt say it did
We're chatting again
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
It really bothers me that the dr thinks my symptoms are somatic
So talk to him about that
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
And say what. Not only does he say i have borderline personality he says i have dependent personality too
Which doctor exactly are we talking about?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
My regular dr
Well, since he's not a psychiatrist I don't think he has the qualifications for giving you those diagnoses
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
You have talked to me a lot do you agree
No, I don't think so but one can't nail down a diagnosis like that in a format like this
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I will talk to you later
OK
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
So im on another round of augmetin 600-125 for 14 days. For sinus infection
I read that the first time. Your point here?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
That was kind of snotty. Did i do something to make you mad?
No but I didn't see any reason for you even to have brought up the Augmentin--there are some times when you post something and I have no idea why you did
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Im sorry please dont be mad
Not mad but let's get back on track
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Ok. I havent told the teens where i was while i was in the hospital
No real need to unless they'd understand and support you--and maybe if the thought ever occurs to you again you should think about them before you act on it
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Im not a bad person for trying it
Never said you were--just a suggestion on how you might avert doing it again
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
If someone tries it are they more likrly to try it again
You have
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Are you sure you are not disappointed in me
Not at all. You haven't done anything to make me disappointed in you
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Yes i did
Only in your mind and you look at things differently from me
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I let marty repeatedly hit me and force me to have sex. And then i do things like i did on sunday. How can you not view me as a disappointment
I just don't look at it like that because I understand why that happens and it really isn't your fault. I would say that if you haven't or don't talk to a lawyer about Marty that would disappoint me
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
It is my fault
No comment--you know I don't agree with that
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I dont see my therapist for 2 more weeks how do i work on getting better
I suppose you haven't seen a lawyer? Will you call your friends and get together? Have you don't any more work on the self esteem thing?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I have an appt scheduled with a lawyer on the 23. I may do something with my friends. I havent done no more on the worksheets
Well one out of three isn't too bad. The others are my suggestions
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
What do you think of trazodone
Be specific when you ask me a question like that
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Do you thunk its better than restoril. Is it less addictive
Yes--I'd prefer that
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Why would you prefer it over restoril
Less addicting but still you shouldn't use any sleep aid for more than a few nights at a time. But we're straying off course here
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I dont know what to say that would be on course. When i feel like i felt on sunday i should just go to the er instead of doing what i did right
Yes if you can't get in touch with your therapist
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I can only get in touch with him from 8-5 monday through friday. My dr told me that if someone takes restoril they can go though DTs like an alcoholic does
The same one that prescribed it for you? And, by the way, does he know what you tried to do?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
No my reg dr didnt prescribe it for me. I was talking to this dr i was working for about prazosin. Mentioned to him i wasnt sleeping. He rxd it for me. My pcp was the one who mentioned dts. And no they dont know what i tried to do. Why do you ask
Well any doctor that did know what you did would be at least reprimanded by the Board of Medicine for a lack of medical judgement. And yes there is withdrawal from Restoril if it's used for a long time and then stopped cold turkey but why are we going back to that subject?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Im confused. Why would they be reprimanded? Ill drop the subject after this
Simple--you know what you tried to do. No doctor should be prescribing you anything that could potentially be used to overdose
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Is sleep important
Yes but it shouldn't be induced with medication for more than a few nights at a time
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Do you not trust me to not do what i did sunday again? Can i take medication during the week but not the weekend
I wasn't hinting at that. It's OK for no more than five days but since you're on what I think his too high a dose, you're going to be groggy during the day whenever you've taken it the night before
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
It makes me feel drugged and hazy
Like I said, it's too high a dose
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Ive been tkaing it simr
Momday shouldnt i ne use to it by now
No and that's the wrong way to look at it anyway--too high a dose is too high a dose and since it's the weekend you don't need it for the next two days
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Why would the dr figr me a high dose
No idea but you should have been put on the 15 mg. Enough for tonight--my bed time and you don't need it tonight or tomorrow night
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I sleep for like an hourvthen am up. This has happened all night
Without the Restoril?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Ya. But then i took it at like 2 this am and i was just up every hour or so
Just don't take it again until say Monday night. We really need to close this page
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Last question ad then ill close this page. Why not until monday
You just need to break up the pattern like I said before--otherwise you'll get dependent on the Restoril
Dr. Chip and 2 other Health Specialists are ready to help you