How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. German Your Own Question

Dr. German
Dr. German, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 3819
Experience:  MD
3310972
Type Your Health Question Here...
Dr. German is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I am looking for one last opinion from a certified HIV specialist, reg

Resolved Question:

I am looking for one last opinion from a certified HIV specialist, regarding my HIV test results. Bare with me, I have asked many questions online regarding these results and I am looking for a final opinion. Here are my test results:

HIV DNA by PCR: 80 HRS (NEGATIVE)

HIV DNA by PCR: 25 days (NEGATIVE)

HIV anti-body test: 25 days (NEGATIVE)

HIV RNA (FDA approved): 40 days (NEGATIVE)

Your thoughts on the results.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Health
Expert:  Dr. German replied 1 year ago.

Welcome and thanks for your question , I am sorry that you have not received an answered until this time I would be happy to assist and clear any doubts you have , you basically had 3 tests ,the first one the HIV DNA by PCR detects the virus in children born from mothers who are HIV positive in which an antibody test could not give accurate results specially during the first months while the mother's antibodies could be still present in the babies blood . This test is not recommended in adults.

 

If the results are positive in 2 different blood tests, you will need to confirm it with positives ELISA AND WESTERN BLOT TEST months later.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The HIV antibody testing has a window period of 3 to 6 months , which is the time your body could take to produce enough antibodies to be detectable if they get infected . If the results are negative in 25 days , the test is repeated in 2 more months ( 97 % of patients infected with HIV will be antibody positive at 3 months ) .

 

 

 

 

The HIV RNA testing is very accurate and foolproof ,it detects the virus particle itself in your blood . For recent HIV infected patients the test would be positive as early as 14 days and if the test is completely negative at 30 days ,this confirms you are not infected with the HIV virus . So in your case ,there is no need to be worried or concerned at all , YOU DO NOT HAVE HIV .

 

 

 

 

 

If you feel the need to rate "Helped a little" (1) or "I expected more”(2) they count as negative rating , please stop and reply to me via the CONTINUE CONVERSATION button with whatever issue or clarification you may need. I will be happy to continue further and assist you until I am able to explain any concerns or doubts to your satisfaction.

 

 

 

 

Please be aware if you give any rating below 3 stars then I will not be compensated in any way for helping you today. Good luck to you and have a good day !

 

 

 

 

When we finish our conversation if you like the answer ,please click accept so I can get credit for my work.

Dr. German, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 3819
Experience: MD
Dr. German and 2 other Health Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

can I write you a follow up question at this point? are you available now?

Expert:  Dr. German replied 1 year ago.
Yes , I am available to help you right now.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
< Last | Next >
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
  • I thank-you so much! It really helped to have this information and confirmation. We will watch her carefully and get her in for the examination and US right away if things do not improve. God bless you as well! Claudia Albuquerque, NM
  • Outstanding response time less than 6 minutes. Answered the question professionally and with a great deal of compassion. Kevin Beaverton, OR
  • Suggested diagnosis was what I hoped and will take this info to my doctor's appointment next week.
    I feel better already! Thank you.
    Elanor Tracy, CA
  • Thank you to the Physician who answered my question today. The answer was far more informative than what I got from the Physicians I saw in person for my problem. Julie Lockesburg, AR
  • You have been more help than you know. I seriously don't know what my sisters situation would be today if you had not gone above and beyond just answering my questions. John and Stefanie Tucson, AZ
  • I have been dealing with an extremely serious health crisis for over three years, and one your physicians asked me more questions, gave me more answers and encouragement than a dozen different doctors who have been treating me!! Janet V Phoenix, AZ
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Nurse Milli, RN

    Nurse (RN)

    Satisfied Customers:

    4043
    20 years experience in many areas of Nursing. Both Hospital and Private Practice experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NU/nursescare4u/2013-3-31_03429_JApic.64x64.jpg Nurse Milli, RN's Avatar

    Nurse Milli, RN

    Nurse (RN)

    Satisfied Customers:

    4043
    20 years experience in many areas of Nursing. Both Hospital and Private Practice experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    102
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    5622
    Emergency Medicine and Family Practice for over 26 years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/drphophalia/2007-08-23_095626_dr._arun_phophalia.jpg Dr. Arun Phophalia's Avatar

    Dr. Arun Phophalia

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    17025
    MBBS, MS (General Surgery), Fellowship in Sports Medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VA/VANP/2012-6-6_235535_Skye2.64x64.jpg A. Schuyler, NP's Avatar

    A. Schuyler, NP

    Nurse Practitioner

    Satisfied Customers:

    12170
    Board Certified NP, MS, RN. Private practice & hospitalist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    10029
    Over 20 yrs of Family Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/neurosurg/2009-10-06_120923_profile.jpg Dr. Mark's Avatar

    Dr. Mark

    Doctor (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    6234
    U.S. Physician/Surgeon in Neurosurgery
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Health Professional
Dr. German
Dr. German
Health Professional
3819 Satisfied Customers
MD