How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Dr. Chip Your Own Question
Dr. Chip
Dr. Chip, Doctor (MD)
Category: Health
Satisfied Customers: 29313
Experience:  Over 20 yrs of Family Practice
18722459
Type Your Health Question Here...
Dr. Chip is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hi Thank you for the help regarding gluten and medicines that

This answer was rated:

Hi Thank you for the help regarding gluten and medicines that you gave me a few months ago. I have a new gluten-&-mends question now. If a name-brand OTC medicine is gluten-free, and the generic version lists the same ingredients, can I assume the generic is also GF? In particular, is "microcrystalline cellulose" a GF ingredient? THANK YOU!
Hi, the simple answer is yes, the generic would be just as GF as the brand name, and cellulose is not a protein and not related to gluten
Customer: replied 5 years ago.
But starches can be problematic although not proteins. Can microcrystalline cellulose come from any kind of plant? (I would be leery of wheat-derived starch but not corn-derived starch.)

Btw - nice to work w/ you again. How's the tango and cider etc coming along? :-)

Oh, yes, I remember--great mixtures. What's your problem with starches?
Customer: replied 5 years ago.
I avoid wheat starch unless it's CODEX wheat starch which has as much protein washed out as possible and is tested to be less than 20 ppm of gluten. (And even then, eating it is contoversial.) So if an OTC med says 'starch (wheat)', I put it back on the shelf and hasten away.

But I don't know what microcrystalline cellulose is, what it comes from, and whether it can have pesky proteins lurking in it due to manufacturing processes.

Very grateful for input.
Actually, it's refined wood pulp and is simply glucose in a form that is more of a filler or carrier for things like pills. It really doesn't contain protein, so it shouldn't be a problem in your case.
Dr. Chip and 2 other Health Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 5 years ago.
Yum, trees! Every time I take a med w/ m-c cellulose in it, I will feel like Grizzly Adams & think of you gratefully. Thanks!