How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask SpecialistMichael Your Own Question

SpecialistMichael
SpecialistMichael, MS, CSCS
Category: General
Satisfied Customers: 506
Experience:  Senior Information Specialist
Type Your Question Here...
SpecialistMichael is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Anybody have any thoughts or opinions on Zoysia grass?

Customer Question

Anybody have any thoughts or opinions on Zoysia grass?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: General
Expert:  GeneralistWindylen replied 2 years ago.

windylen :

Welcome to Just answer. This is Len and I am glad to assist you today. Zoysia Grass is a genus of creeping grasses native to Southeast and East Asia .These species are commonly called Zoysia or Zoysia grass are found on coastal areas. The genus is named after Austrian botanist, Karl Von Zois.These grasses are used on golf courses to create fairways and teeing areas. Zoysia grasses stop erosion on slopes and are excellent at repelling weeds throughout the year.

Customer:

Thanks Len. Very interesting history but I was asking if anybody had hands on experience with the product as far as sucesses or complaints.

windylen :

I am sorry but I never had hands on experience with the product. Thanks

Expert:  SpecialistMichael replied 2 years ago.
I would really only recommend it if you are farther south in latitude than say Michigan or so. Its a heat resistant grass, that if you decided to build this into a landscaping feature would probably be best off in a warmer climate. There are homes and landscaping features around the southern portion of the US where Zoysia grass would flourish.

Its general better used in areas that see temperatures around 65+, but if used in northern climates in the colder seasons will more than likely go dormant for a longer portion of the year. With these seeds(if you decide to see a fresh yard) you should only do it if there are no other species present, if you are trying to incorporate zoysia grass into a yard with something like perennial rye grass, you would need to "plug" the ground instead of just seeding overtop.

All that said, there are areas in northern states like NY that actually do have Zoysia grass , even in areas that are not golf courses or groomed areas. Its a very pleasant grass otherwise, when cut relatively short is actually very nice for a yard and for areas that are not "seasonally watered"(Like NY for example) this grass is great for resisting browning and droughts in the summer but again once temperatures drop this grass may prematurely go dormant and possibly brown, so just be prepared.

SpecialistMichael, MS, CSCS
Category: General
Satisfied Customers: 506
Experience: Senior Information Specialist
SpecialistMichael and 97 other General Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ron

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    21124
    23 years with Ford specializing in drivability and electrical and AC. Ford certs and ASE Certs
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FO/fordguy4u/2011-12-17_222940_HPIM1257.64x64.JPG Ron's Avatar

    Ron

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    21124
    23 years with Ford specializing in drivability and electrical and AC. Ford certs and ASE Certs
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/lyeung1/2010-07-25_032152_tn_IMG_0241.JPG Dr. Y.'s Avatar

    Dr. Y.

    Urologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    18367
    I am fellowship trained specializing in general urology and reconstructive urology.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/docjohn174/2008-12-13_170143_johnask.jpg John's Avatar

    John

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    13453
    Appliance repair business owner for over 43 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8473
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dermdoc19/2010-09-30_160749_Photo_122807_015.JPG dermdoc19's Avatar

    dermdoc19

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    3829
    30 years practice in general and cosmetic dermatology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BI/birddoctor/2012-6-22_173214_birddoctor.64x64.png Dr. Pat's Avatar

    Dr. Pat

    Bird Veterinarian

    Satisfied Customers:

    3383
    25+ years working primarily or exclusively with birds
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RY/rydergar/2012-6-6_192240_IMG0328.64x64.JPG Dr. Gary's Avatar

    Dr. Gary

    Cat Veterinarian

    Satisfied Customers:

    3291
    DVM, Emergency Veterinarian, BS (Physiology)