Login|Contact Us
Question and Answer

Fraud Examiner

Ask a Lawyer or CFE, Get an Answer ASAP!

  • Ask A Question
  • Browse Answers
  • Meet The Experts
  • How JustAnswer Works

Is this a scam...received an email saying I could get my scores

 

Customer Question

Is this a scam...received an email saying I could get my scores from all 3 bureaus free and I entered social security number and other information that I should probably not have without thinking? "triplescores"XXX@XXXXXX.XXX

 



Already Tried:
I put a fraud alert on one of the bureaus that said it would send to the other 2. I signed up for additional services for $11.95 per month through TransUnion Fraud Victim Assistance

Submitted: 278 days and 5 hours ago.
Category: Fraud Examiner
Value: $30
Status: CLOSED
Picture
Expert:  lucy7368 replied278 days and 5 hours ago.


lucy7368 :

Hi, My name is XXXX XXX I'd be happy to answer your questions today. Please do not choose a rating until we have finished our conversation. If you feel for any reason that I have provided poor or bad service, please discuss it with me before rating so that I may ensure that you are 100% satisfied with my service.

lucy7368 :

The federal government does have a law that allows a person free access to his credit report, from each of the three major credit bureaus, per year, without inputting a credit card number or paying anything. The way to do that is to visit www.annualcreditreport.com

.

lucy7368 :

There are similar services, such as www.freecreditreport.com, that offer credit reports for a fee. They're legitimate, there's just no reason to pay for what you can get for free.

lucy7368 :

I can't see the email address that you input - the site removes them for security reasons. Can you do it again, without the @ symbol.

Customer :

Why?

lucy7368 :

So I can read it and try to figure out who sent the email.

lucy7368 :

Also, I'm finding lots of company with similar names. Is the one you used the site at http://www.triplescore.com/?

Customer :

didid imcu.com

I don't know how to send you a copy of the email...that is all that I know...thanks, dd

It's from "triplescores" XXXXX@XXXXXX.XXX ---subject line: daily credit monitoring

At the bottom there is an insert with Common Contact.com 1194 S. Main St., Ste.2, Sprinville, UT 84663

Did you get that?

lucy7368 :

Yes, thank you. Let me see what I can find out.

lucy7368 :

All of these companies are essentially a rip-off, in the sense that you can get what they're selling for free. But that doesn't necessarily mean that they're going to steal your personal information. Other than giving them your SSN, did you give them a credit card number?

lucy7368 :

Did you check to see if that website I found is the right company?

lucy7368 :

Also, you can monitor your credit, as frequently as you want, for free, using www.creditkarma.com. It's paid for entirely by advertising, but you do not need to pay for anything to use it.

lucy7368 :

I apologize. I'm having some technical problems, and I'm going to need to turn off my computer. I'm going to hand you over to another expert, because I don't know how long it'll be before I'm able to return.

Picture
Expert:  Lawyer Lori replied278 days and 4 hours ago.

Hello. Lucy has asked that I assist you. I will look this over and be back to you in a few minutes.

Picture
Expert:  Lawyer Lori replied278 days and 4 hours ago.

I'm looking into this now. Could you retype the e-mail address, but instead of the @ sign, could you type in the word "at"?

It is true that if you put a fraud watch on one of the credit agencies they will typically share that with the others.

Thanks.

Customer replied278 days and 4 hours ago.

"triplescores" monitor at reliantretainer.com


 


Where did you go? This is not worth the money....


 

Picture
Expert:  Lawyer Lori replied278 days and 4 hours ago.

I'm sorry, I was assisting someone else. Give me a few minutes to look up this site.

Customer replied278 days and 3 hours ago.


I must go...this has taken way too long. I have not received any value for my $30 and am wondering if this isn't a scam as well.

Picture
Expert:  Lawyer Lori replied278 days and 3 hours ago.

Okay. I've done some checking and here is what I have found out.

I am unable to find a website "reliantretainer.com".

However, there are several reports that have been made against Common Contact for excessive spamming of websites.

There are a number of companies (some legitimate, some not) which are currently sending out mass e-mails. I have, personally, received a number of these over the past few weeks. But - the 3 big credit agencies do not send these e-mails.

Odds are that this is a company that is merely charging you to provide a credit report that you can obtain for free; however, the possibility that this is a scam and they are seeking to commit identity theft is possible.

I would normally suggest that you contact one of the credit agencies and place a fraud watch, but you appear to have done this. In addition, I suggest that you also alert your bank to the possibility of fraud. You may also want to consider having your credit card company cancel the card that you used and re-issue one with another number.

Transunion is a reliable company and I have had good reports from their monitoring services.

I hope this answers your concerns. If not, please do not hesitate to let me know.

 
Tweet

7 Fraud Experts are Online Right Now

Ask Your Question Now
Ask A Fraud Expert
Type Your Fraud Examiner Question Here...
characters left:

Top Fraud Examiner Experts

See More Fraud Experts

JustAnswer in the News

Nbc
Washington Post
New York Times
Cnn
Learn More

How It Works

  • Ask an Expert
  • Get a Professional Answer
  • Ask Followup Questions
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Learn More

Ask a Fraud Expert

Get a Professional Answer. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
181 Fraud Experts are Online Now
Type Your Fraud Examiner Question Here...
characters left:
Disclaimer: Information in questions, answers, and other posts on this site ("Posts") comes from individual users, not JustAnswer; JustAnswer is not responsible for Posts. Posts are for general information, are not intended to substitute for informed professional advice (medical, legal, veterinary, financial, etc.), or to establish a professional-client relationship. The site and services are provided "as is" with no warranty or representations by JustAnswer regarding the qualifications of Experts. To see what credentials have been verified by a third-party service, please click on the "Verified" symbol in some Experts' profiles. JustAnswer is not intended or designed for EMERGENCY questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals.
Truste
Contact Us | Terms of Service | Privacy & Security | About Us | Our Network
© 2003-2013 JustAnswer LLC
  • Pearl.com
  • JustAnswer UK
  • JustAnswer Germany
  • JustAnswer Spanish
  • JustAnswer Japan