Login|Contact Us
Question and Answer

Fraud Examiner

Ask a Lawyer or CFE, Get an Answer ASAP!

  • Ask A Question
  • Browse Answers
  • Meet The Experts
  • How JustAnswer Works

we have been approached by eu international ltd to invest money

 

Customer Question

we have been approached by eu international ltd to invest money with them. we are worried they could be scaming us even thou the woman talking to us sounds very convincing and it is tempting

 



Already Tried:
we asked our financial advisor if he had heard of this company and he hadn't. He suggested its a scam

Submitted: 240 days and 3 hours ago.
Category: Fraud Examiner
Value: NZ$47
Status: CLOSED
Picture
Expert:  LegalPro54 replied 240 days and 3 hours ago.

Hello and thank you for entrusting me to assist you. My goal is to answer your question completely and thoroughly and to provide excellent service.

Can you please confirm for me that this is the website of the business that has solicited you? http://eu-fx.com/

I very much look forward to assisting you regarding this matter.

Customer replied 240 days and 3 hours ago.

I am not sure if the website above belongs to the company that has solicited us. we were sent a brochure and emails. they have a 0800 number which is(NNN) NNN-NNNN665 and a XXXXXXXX@XXXXXX.XXX


the lady that has been contacting us is Veronica Sharpe and her CEO isJames Torrington.


They are located in Brisbane,Queensland

Picture
Expert:  LegalPro54 replied 240 days and 3 hours ago.

Thank you for this additional information.

Just Answer has an automatic privacy censor that blocks out email addresses, so all I see is "XXXX@XXX.XXX" if you type the address normally. Would you please kindly replace the "@" symbol with a "#" symbol, which should get the email address through the privacy censor?

After you do this I will be able to provide an answer.

Thanks again.

Customer replied 240 days and 3 hours ago.

info#euinternational.com.au

Accepted Answer

Picture
Expert:  LegalPro54 replied 240 days and 3 hours ago.

Thank you very much for this additional information.

I was able to deduce from the email you provided that their website address is in fact http://euinternational.com.au

A search of the domain registry reveals that the site was create in March, which is quite recent and a big red flag, since scam businesses tend to frequently change names in order to avoid the accumulation of negative reviews.

The website also appears to be registered through a domain proxy, which conceals the true identity of the website owner. While there are sometimes legitimate reasons for registering one's site through a proxy service, this is also the sign of a scam whose perpetrator does not want to be tracked down.

They also do not state a physical office address on their website, which again is a sign of a business that is trying to obscure its identity.

This company is registered with the ABN, but the registration data reveals that the company was also registered in March. See here: http://www.abr.business.gov.au/SearchByAbn.aspx?abn=78131923110

Again, this reflects that they are extremely new and undocumented.

Further, there was another business by the same name that has since closed down: http://www.abr.business.gov.au/SearchByAbn.aspx?abn=20098902071 this suggests that the company that has solicited you may be posing as a formerly legitimate company by that same name--a tactic often employed by scammers.

Here on Just Answer we have received previous inquiries with regard to this company. Those customers inquiring stated that EU International was requesting 10,000 up front for an investment premised on horse racing. I'm not sure if that is at all similar to what has been proposed to you, but even if it isn't, the fact that this offer was proposed is a sign that this business is a scam for two reasons.

First, requests for large amounts of money up front by new, undocumented companies is almost always a sign of a scam. In addition, "investment" opportunities premised on sports betting have a known history of being scams. See here for a warning from Scam Watch regarding scam investment companies that claim to have developed successful algorithms to produce returns from sports betting: http://www.scamwatch.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/808229

Again, even if EU International has proposed a different investment deal to you, the fact that they are soliciting anyone with this kind of offer should be a huge red flag that they may be a run of the mill "fly by night" operation.

In general, I can find no positive reviews regarding this business's services. They are new, undocumented, taking measures to conceal their identity, and operating in an industry known for scams asking for large amounts of money up front. This all sounds like someone that you shouldn't wanna touch with a ten foot pole, as the risks of a scam are just too high.

I sincerely XXXXX XXXXX this information helps you and I wish you the best.

If you do not have any further concerns, I would be very grateful if you would give my answer a positive rating and click submit, as this is the only way I will receive credit for assisting you. If you have any additional concerns that you would like me to address, please feel free to let me know by hitting the REPLY or CONTINUE CONVERSATION button and I will be more than happy to continue assisting you.

Finally, please bear in mind that none of the above constitutes legal advice nor is any attorney client relationship created between us.

Thank you and very kindest regards.

Expert TypeAttorney
Category: Fraud Examiner
Pos. Feedback: 98.7 %
Accepts: 1781
Answered: 8/16/2012

Experience: Attorney with significant fraud prevention experience.

Ask this Expert a Question >
 
Tweet

Fraud Experts are Online Right Now

Ask Your Question Now
Ask A Fraud Expert
Type Your Fraud Examiner Question Here...
characters left:

Top Fraud Examiner Experts

See More Fraud Experts

In The News

Nbc
Washington Post
New York Times
Cnn
Learn More

How It Works

  • Ask an Expert
  • Get a Professional Answer
  • Ask Followup Questions
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Learn More
close
Find Expert answers related to your question.
Sign up using email
We will never post anything without your permission.
Already have an account? Sign in

Ask a Fraud Expert

Get a Professional Answer. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
69 Fraud Experts are Online Now
Type Your Fraud Examiner Question Here...
characters left:
Disclaimer: Information in questions, answers, and other posts on this site ("Posts") comes from individual users, not JustAnswer; JustAnswer is not responsible for Posts. Posts are for general information, are not intended to substitute for informed professional advice (medical, legal, veterinary, financial, etc.), or to establish a professional-client relationship. The site and services are provided "as is" with no warranty or representations by JustAnswer regarding the qualifications of Experts. To see what credentials have been verified by a third-party service, please click on the "Verified" symbol in some Experts' profiles. JustAnswer is not intended or designed for EMERGENCY questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals.
Truste
Contact Us | Terms of Service | Privacy & Security | About Us
© 2003-2013 JustAnswer LLC