Just been rung by a Vikki Carter from Holiday Rentals Direct. Had a buyer for half my points (23 thousand at 50 p a point) - is this normal?
Already Tried: searched the web site
Hello and thank you for your question, which I will be happy to assist you with. Please let me know what are your specific concerns?
Have they got form or are they a reputable company? - previously when I've been cold called, the callers have invariably wanted upfront deposits.
have they asked for anything at all?
not yet - when I told her I had 46k points plus an additional 10k with RCI direct, she is going to check with her Manager and coming back to me.
do you have any details of the company such as website, address, etc
not yet
at this stage it is a bit too early to tell if they are legitimate or not. Without any details to confirm who the company is it would be difficult to state with certainty if they are bona fide or if they appear to be running a scam. However, there is nothing stopping you from taking this further and evaluating your position as you go along. According to the European Timeshare Directive (implemented in the UK under the Timeshare, Holiday Products, Resale and Exchange Contracts Regulations 2010), it is illegal for businesses acting as timeshare resellers to ask for any payment from the consumer within a specified cooling off period. This period is 14 days after the contract has been signed. Therefore, if you have been offered the chance to sell your points and have been asked to pay any money in advance of this cooling off period, then that is an unlawful request and suggests that this is most likely a scam because a reputable reseller would never make such a request.
many thanks - I'll dig some more
Experience: Qualified Lawyer
It would appear their website (not inter-reactive) is a one page wonder, presumably to create an impression of activity. Will advise if/when they get back to me.
do you have their website?
From further research:
Holiday Rentals Direct seems to be based in Torrox, a coastline village of Malaga, Spain. Their address is a post box: Apartado 66 Sur 1, 29793 Torrox and their contact number is X Spanish landline number: 0034952547486 or Spanish Mobile 0034622148778 www.holidayrentalsdirect.eu
A scam apparently. Thank you for your help!
no problem, all the best