Family Law Questions? Ask a Family Lawyer Online.
Hi and welcome to JA. Ray here to help you today.Please bear with me a few moments while I review your question and respond.
In the United States, proxy marriages are provided for in law or by customary practice in Texas, Colorado, Kansas, and Montana Of these, Montana is the only state that allows double-proxy marriage. Proxy marriages cannot be solemnized in all other U.S. states.
So here you would either have to marry in person in either Washington or Michigan, it is not allowed by proxy or internet.The real reason this is not allowed is because of identity theft an marriage fraud to obtain green cards, etc.You have to go in person to get license with photo id here.Please don't shoot he messenger here , trying to give you honest information.
Sorry no it has to be in person you go to county clerk to get license and then the official that marries you completes it and you file it.Sorry it has to be in person.
State of MichiganApplication Process
The marriage license fee is $20.00 for residents of Michigan. $30 for non-residents.
In order to get married in Michigan, couples must apply in person, with current valid driver’s license or state I.D. to obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk of the COUNTY in which either applicant resides.
You must be 18 years of age and the opposite gender to apply for a marriage application in Michigan.
There is a three-day waiting period after the application before the license may be issued and used.
No blood test or residency requirements.
Marriage license is valid for 33 days.
Be sure to contact your local County Clerk’s Office well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the Clerk will be in the office. Some locales will require an appointment.
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Washington state if you want to do it there..