How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Law Educator, Esq. Your Own Question
Law Educator, Esq.
Law Educator, Esq., Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 111547
Experience:  Experienced attorney: Family law, Estate Law, SS Law etc.
10285032
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Law Educator, Esq. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Missouri changed the age for emancipation from 22 to 21 after

Customer Question

Missouri changed the age for emancipation from 22 to 21 after my divorce. My son recently turned 21 but my decree says I am to pay child support until age 22 based on the old law. Does the age of 21 apply in my situation and can I discontinue paying child support?
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 3 years ago.
Thank you for your question. I look forward to working with you to provide you the information you are seeking.

The MO statute changing the emancipation age does not specify it applies to cases after a certain date and thus it is likely to be interpreted by the MO courts to apply to all child support orders written in MO. Because the law does not specify any date for the emancipation age to be effective, it applies to all cases and as such it would apply to your case as well and if your ex sues you for non-payment, it is more likely than not the court will concur that based on the change in the law your support has ceased because of emancipation at 21 (the majority of the MO courts are finding this, but there is no MO Supreme Court ruling on this yet).




I truly aim to please you as a customer, but please keep in mind that I do not know what you already know or don't know, or with what you need help, unless you tell me. Please consider that I am answering the question or question that is posed in your posting based upon my reading of your post and sometimes misunderstandings can occur. If I did not answer the question you thought you were asking, please respond with the specific question you wanted answered.

Kindly remember the ONLY WAY experts receive any credit at all for spending time with customers is if you click on OK, GOOD or EXCELLENT SERVICE even though you have made a deposit or are a subscription customer. YOU MUST COMPLETE THE RATING FOR THE EXPERT TO RECEIVE ANY CREDIT, if not the site keeps your money on deposit.

Also remember, sometimes the law does not support what we want it to support, but that is not the fault of the person answering the question, so please be courteous.

Customer: replied 3 years ago.

I understand that we complete a request to terminate request which the exwife has 30 days to reply to. Can she insist on a full blown hearing/motion to modify or can the judge rule at the initial hearing in our favor? Just trying to weigh the cost as we have approx $400 in child support remaining. Our attorney will charge $500 to file and appear at initial hearing.


thanks

Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 3 years ago.
Thank you for your response.

You are correct, you submit the motion to terminate, you cite the law in your motion and state that the law did not state any dates that it applied to and as such it applies to all support decisions. She has the right to file an objection on the motion at which time the judge will read the law and make a ruling based on the law, since this is not a matter where facts and evidence need to be presented, only the law. If you have $400 remaining, even if you file the motion yourself you will incur some costs and might end up saving maybe $100-$200 in the long run and that is an economic decision you have to make, since the law on this is on your side for terminating the support.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.


sorry- the $400 was a typo- it is actually $4000 remaining.

Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 3 years ago.
Thank you for clarifying.

If you owe $4000 and spend $500 to get this properly terminated, then economically this is the best course of action for you to pursue here as the court will have to terminate in accordance with the law.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Thanks very much

Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 3 years ago.
Thank you. Please do not forget to leave excellent service feedback as that is the only way the experts receive credit for working with customers.

Related Family Law Questions