How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask socrateaser Your Own Question

socrateaser
socrateaser, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 33908
Experience:  Retired (mostly)
10097515
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
socrateaser is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

today i filed admendment to complaints in court. friday may

Resolved Question:

today i filed admendment to complaints in court. friday may 10 notice to appear so sent
may i too late for admendment to complaint. i have not recieved the order yet.
do i need to file motion to leave admendment
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
If your amendment is filed before the defendant answers or moves to dismiss, then your amended complaint is timely. Otherwise, you must file a motion for leave to amend.

Hope this helps.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

i was talking with lawyer tina can i cancel you

Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
I'm not sure why you want to cancel, given that I have just provided a completely dispositive legal answer.

But, you're the customer, and the choice is entirely yours.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

can you help me with motion for leave to amend

Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Depends on what sort of help you need. Neither I nor anyone in this forum can write a motion for leave to amend for you. That would be illegal and it violates the website policies.

But, if you have a motion that you would like me to look at and give you some pointers, I will be happy to do so.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

is there some kind of website for me to look at so i can see sample of how to write motion

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Relist: Other.
he is offline
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Hello again,

Note: I wasn't offline. I was helping another customer. Please let me know if the system indicated that I was offline, and I will complain to customer service.

There are numerous examples of leave to amend motions available online. You can Google "motion leave amend georgia" and you will see several dozen. However, the motions that are available, are written for federal district court, not Georgia Superior Court.

A motion for leave to amend is a fairly simple motion, so there won't be much difference. But, you will have to format the pleading for Superior Court.

If you need a sample, then you will either have to visit a public or university law library, or you will need to purchase a civil practice guide. Professional practice guides are very costly. However, you can order one on a credit card, and then return it within 45 days as long as its in new condition, and the publisher will refund your money (less the cost of return shipping -- which you can do using USPS media mail, which is extremely cheap ($5-$10). Here's an example guide. I assume this is a family law matter. If not let me know and I can point you to another.

If you are in a big rush, then the only way to get the publication is to have it shipped overnight, or visit a law library.

Hope this helps.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


it stated that you were off line

Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Very interesting. Thanks.

Is there anything else that I can assist you with tonight?
socrateaser, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 33908
Experience: Retired (mostly)
socrateaser and 7 other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
< Last | Next >
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    8085
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    8085
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney and Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    6424
    27+ years legal experience. I remain current in Family Law through regular continuing education.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6336
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    5987
    I provide family and divorce law advice to my clients in my firm.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5773
    JD, 15 years legal experience including family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BrianTMayer/2010-01-06_200119_BM.jpg Brandon M.'s Avatar

    Brandon M.

    Family Law Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    3810
    Attorney experienced in all aspects of family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2634
    Attorney