How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Seattle Scott Your Own Question
Seattle Scott
Seattle Scott, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 961
Experience:  I have 25 years experience as a Washington State Family Law Attorney.
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Seattle Scott is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

hi i filed a petition for review with supreme court and have

This answer was rated:

hi i filed a petition for review with supreme court and have case now has a new supreme court case # XXXXX the case web sight shows :
Case Category: Review - Civil Appeal
Start Date: 04/15/2013
Case Status: case initiated
Date Description Notes
04/15/2013 Petition for review filed
Defendant and Appellant: C.P. CRC 8.25(b)
04/15/2013 Record requested
04/17/2013 Received Court of Appeal record one doghouse ( volume 1 of 2 )

is this case being reviewed?
Looks like it, otherwise the Ct of Appeals Record would not have been requested. What supreme curt rule controls your petition process?
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

wow... I do hope what you think is true! does the following answer your Q...

Case Summary

Supreme Court Case:S209944
Court of Appeal Case(s):Second Appellate District, Div. 7
Case Caption:IN RE V. P.
Case Category:Review - Civil Appeal
Start Date:04/15/2013
Case Status:case initiated
Case Citation:none

Is this a discretionary review or an appeal as a matter of right? Meaning, can the court just deny your petition without a hearing?
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

sorry for delay... ok what you have asked i have no idea - all i know is my appeal was denied and i now have filed for a petition for review with the supreme court....

If I knew what procedure or court rule you filed your petition pursuant to, then I could tell you what the next step would be with the court so you could anticipate what was going to happen next and when.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

i could scan the doc for you - what i filed (pro per) it is about 10 pgs?













Doesn't your petition recite somewhere " I am petitioning pursuant to court rule xxxx " or something like that.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

yes -

Pursuant to rule 33.3(a)(1) of the California Rules of Court, petitioner, Cara Pistoll, respectfully XXXXX XXXXX petition for review for the sole purpose of exhausting her state remedies prior to presenting her claims for federal habeas corpus relief. The case presents no grounds for review under California Rules of Court rule 28(b)(1).

A copy of the decision of the Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District, Division Seven, which dismissed the claims and was filed on February 26, 2013, is attached as Exhibit A.

Ok, that helps. I will check on the rules and get back to you tomorrow.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

ok thank you

I am not finding those court rules. Were you using this as your form petition

My guess is the court rules have been renumbered, or can you find the text of the rules you cited?
Seattle Scott and 8 other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you
Let me know if there is more I can help you with and feed back is always appreciated. If you are satisfied please click that I provided good service. If you do not rate my service (even if you thought it was great) I receive no credit for my work. If you want to ask questions of me specifically in the future, go to
Seattle Scott and 8 other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related Family Law Questions