How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask N Cal Attorney Your Own Question

N Cal Attorney
N Cal Attorney, Attorney
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 8091
Experience:  since 1983
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
N Cal Attorney is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Looking for second opinion on child custody case issue. My

Resolved Question:

Looking for second opinion on child custody case issue.
My fiance is in a custody case with her daughters father. The child currently lives in our home and has supervised visitations with her father once every other week. We have a restraining order with my name my fiance and there daughter as the protected party. My name is XXXXX XXXXX the case my fiance's is but I am protected by the temporary restraining order. We have just learned that he has hired a lawyer that represented me (soon to be step dad) for 3 different cases throughout the last ten years. The last one ending in 2007. I would think that there would be a conflict of interest for him to hire the same lawyer I used when I have a temporary restraining order against him. What do you think? Can this lawyer represent him legaly? Remember that it is my fiance's name on the case paperwork but I am included in the restraining order and the child the case is about live in my home. Thanks
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  N Cal Attorney replied 1 year ago.
I agree this is a conflict of interest if I understand the situation. I am having trouble understanding this because it seems very unusual.

Your lawyer in the restraining order case is now representing a party who is named in the restraining order, is that correct?

The lawyer represented you against the person that is now a client of the same lawyer in a case against your fiancé, is that correct?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
No I am sorry, I must have been unclear. my fiance's daughters father has hired a lawyer in the cild custody case between my fiance(mother of daughter) and him(father of daughter) that represented me (soon to be step dad). through this case we were granted a temporary restraining order naming my fiance me and the child. The lawyer has represented me three times in the last ten years and may have personal information on me that can affect the case because the child lives in my home(remember that I am not involved in the case other then the restraining order and my name is XXXXX XXXXX bunch.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I have re read that last reply and I see your confusion. Let me clairify again. I am sorry. The lawyer that is representing him(father of child) has represented me(fiance of mother) in different cases not involving either party. I hope that makes it more clear
Expert:  N Cal Attorney replied 1 year ago.
If the lawyer obtained confidential information from you that may be relevant to the current representation, I see a conflict of interest. Even if you are not a party to the present action, your fiancé is a party and you are likely to be called as a witness.

My opinion is that if you were married to your fiancé it would be a clear conflict of interest, but I still see this as a conflict of interest that would support a motion to disqualify the lawyer because he is assumed to have obtained confidential information when he was your lawyer.

I think this violates Rule 3-310.
///
(B) A member shall not accept or continue representation of a client without providing written disclosure to the client where:
(1) The member has a legal, business, financial, professional, or personal relationship with a party or witness in the same matter; or
(2) The member knows or reasonably should know that:
(a) the member previously had a legal, business, financial, professional, or personal relationship with a party or witness in the same matter; and
(b) the previous relationship would substantially affect the member's representation
; or
///
(E) A member shall not, without the informed written consent of the client or former client, accept employment adverse to the client or former client where, by reason of the representation of the client or former client, the member has obtained confidential information material to the employment.
///
I hope this information is helpful.
N Cal Attorney, Attorney
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 8091
Experience: since 1983
N Cal Attorney and other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you
Expert:  N Cal Attorney replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for accepting my answer.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
< Last | Next >
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    8085
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    8085
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney and Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    6424
    27+ years legal experience. I remain current in Family Law through regular continuing education.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6336
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    5987
    I provide family and divorce law advice to my clients in my firm.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5773
    JD, 15 years legal experience including family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BrianTMayer/2010-01-06_200119_BM.jpg Brandon M.'s Avatar

    Brandon M.

    Family Law Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    3810
    Attorney experienced in all aspects of family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2634
    Attorney