Hello,Thank you for allowing us to assist you with this problem.
The biggest problem you face is that legally your son is an adult so you lack the ability to force him into treatment unless he is a danger to himself or someone else. Generally, the term “mental health hold” refers to the authority given in state law to certain law enforcement and trained professionals to take someone into custody that they reasonably believe may be a danger to themselves, others or is gravely disabled. If you believe he is a danger, then you can contact the Division of Behavioral Health.
In Colorado, a State law (Colorado Revised Statutes, Title 27, Article 65—”27-65,” formerly known as “27-10”) defines the ways that an individual can be required to get treatment.The "27-65" law requires proof that, due to a mental illness, either1.the individual is demonstrating an imminent threat of harm to self2.the individual is demonstrating an imminent threat of harm to someone else3.the individual is determined to be “gravely disabled.”In these circumstances, a law enforcement officer or certain licensed mental health or medical professionals can complete paperwork to require treatment of the individual by placing him or her in a “27-65 licensed mental health facility” for up to three days. This paperwork is called a “72-Hour Mental Health Hold” or an “M1 Hold.”
Mental Health Holds are often created in hospital emergency departments. An individual goes to a hospital emergency department on their own, or is taken by family, friends, or law enforcement. If the individual shows symptoms of mental illness in the emergency department, and the professionals at the hospital think the individual meets one of the three criteria listed above, the staff may write a 72-Hour or M1 hold, requiring the individual to be placed in a licensed 27-65 facility (usually a psychiatric hospital or psychiatric unit in a general hospital) for up to three days of treatment.Depending on available psychiatric hospital beds, the person may be moved from the emergency department to a different hospital for the 72-hour treatment period. The 72-hour hold compels the individual struggling with a mental illness to receive immediate treatment, focusing on rapid stabilization.During the 72-hour (three-day) period, mental health professionals will get to know the individual to understand their needs and strengths. If those professionals think that the person will need more than three days of treatment, the treating doctor or psychologist may initiate the Short Term Certification (STC) process.The STC allows mandatory treatment to continue for up to 90 days. (The law allows a second 90-day STC if the first one doesn’t allow enough time for stabilization.) The treating doctor or psychologist makes their STC recommendations to a legal court, which oversees the process to protect the rights of the individual and protect the community.Under an STC, the person is treated in a setting considered the least restrictive to the individual. This often means that an individual begins treatment in an inpatient setting, then continues in an outpatient setting. The STC compels treatment for individuals who have demonstrated that their mental illness symptoms interfere with their ability to take care of themselves in a safe and stable manner.Many people learn, during the first 90 days, that they need to stay in outpatient treatment longer to get well and stay well. People who have experienced effective treatment during this three month period usually can go back to living their lives productively, with new awareness of how to maintain their mental health.In some situations, the supervising court might approve a Long Term Certification after the STC is complete. The Long Term Certification process includes a hearing before the court. It can extend the mandatory treatment period for up to six months. After this, additional extensions can be requested from the court if the person continues be a danger to self, others, or gravely disabled by the illness.Also you can contact the Metro Crisis Line(NNN) NNN-NNNN They can help you navigate through the “system.”
You stated he was in a divorce. Traditionally a person does not go to jail or must have a bond posted in a civil divorce case so there must be some component you did not share with me. Perhaps there is also a criminal matter or he is facing contempt charges before the divorce judge.
Regardless, if he does go to jail that limits your ability to only being able to inform the jail as to his possible mental health issues so they can monitor him and if necessary have him submitted for the hold.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).