How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Legalease Your Own Question

Legalease
Legalease, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 14511
Experience:  13 years experience, divorce & custody issues, protective orders, child abuse issues
20355756
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Legalease is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

In SC, when I file my answer to complaint for separate maintenance

Resolved Question:

In SC, when I file my answer to complaint for separate maintenance and support, if my answer includes allegations of my own as a counterclaim, do I have to register or file the evidence that I plan to use at the ensuing hearing, or can it just be presented when the judge asks what I am referring to in the answer document?
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  Legalease replied 3 years ago.

Hello there.

 

No, you do not have to register or file any of the evidence you are relying on for the separate support and maintenance hearing. When you are writing up your answer and your counterclaim, first you should keep those two separate -- you call the document at the top "Answer to XXXXXXXX and Counterclaim" and then start off with a section "A" as your Answer (I hereby answer the plaintiff's complaint as follows: 1. XXXXXXXX, 2. XXXXXX -- and set out each number as its own paragraph) and then do a section "B" Counterclaim (In addition to the above Answer, the defendant hereby makes the following counterclaims against the plaintiff: 1. XXXXXXXX, 2. XXXXXX). Next, if there are supporting documents that you must use as evidence you can refer to those documents in your Answer and Counterclaim (you can state "based on plaintiff's wage paystub dated June 20, 2010, the plaintiff earned XXXXX" ) and then just be ready to present that supporting document in court -- (you do not have to attach the documents or file them with the court prior to the hearing) -- you just have to show up with three copies of each document so you can give one to the judge, one to the opposing side and keep one for you own file.

 

 

--Mary

 

 

GOOD LUCK

 

 

THANK YOU

Customer: replied 3 years ago.
Do I have to specifically reference where the evidence is coming from? I was planning to simply say in the answer "based on the plaintiff's statements..." but would prefer not to specify how and where I obtained the statements until producing the documents at the hearing - my purpose for this would be to not allow the plaintiff's attorney time to devise a plan for making the source seem illegal or unfair (i.e., my spouse's (the Plaintiff) Facebook page, which I have access to since she has never bothered to change her password XXXXX the time we were happily living together and I had her permission - and she has not since notified me that I don't have her permission to access.)
Expert:  Legalease replied 3 years ago.

Hello.

 

No, you do not have to specifically reference where every piece of evidence is coming from or even what it is -- but when you have things like paystubs and things like that you probably should reference them by date in the written Answer and Counterclaim so that when you hand them into the court it will be easier for the judge to figure out what is what. But there is no rule that states that you absolutely have to do this and you can bring things in at the hearing as you indicate -- just make sure you have enough copies of every thing for the hearing.

 

 

--Mary

 

 

GOOD LUCK

 

 

THANK YOU

Legalease, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 14511
Experience: 13 years experience, divorce & custody issues, protective orders, child abuse issues
Legalease and 2 other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
< Last | Next >
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    8085
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    8085
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney and Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    6424
    27+ years legal experience. I remain current in Family Law through regular continuing education.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6336
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    5987
    I provide family and divorce law advice to my clients in my firm.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5773
    JD, 15 years legal experience including family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BrianTMayer/2010-01-06_200119_BM.jpg Brandon M.'s Avatar

    Brandon M.

    Family Law Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    3810
    Attorney experienced in all aspects of family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2634
    Attorney