How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Ellen Your Own Question
Ellen
Ellen, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 36714
Experience:  25 years of experience helping people like you.
9968427
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Ellen is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

WHAT AGE CAN YOU PUT YOUR CHILD OUT OF YOUR HOME

Resolved Question:

WHAT AGE CAN YOU PUT YOUR CHILD OUT OF YOUR HOME
Submitted: 7 years ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  Ellen replied 7 years ago.
what state does your child reside in?
Customer: replied 7 years ago.
I STAY IN THE STATE OF HOUSTON,TEXAS
Expert:  Ellen replied 7 years ago.

Hello,


Thank you for your question. I am happy to assist you.


A child is automatically emancipated at 18.


However in Texas, a child as young as 16 can obtain emancipation with court approval.


Here is the link to the Texas statutes regarding emancipation:
http://tlo2.tlc.state.tx.us/statutes/docs/FA/content/htm/fa.002.00.000031.00.htm

Ellen and other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related Family Law Questions