How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Roger Your Own Question
Roger
Roger, Attorney
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 31530
Experience:  BV Rated by Martindale-Hubbell; SuperLawyer rating by Thompson-Reuters
6704987
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Roger is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

In New Jersey, how long can a parent be away from a child before

Resolved Question:

In New Jersey, how long can a parent be away from a child before it is considered abandonment? My wife would like me to separate from her and the kids for 2 months.
Submitted: 7 years ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  Roger replied 7 years ago.

NJ Statute 9:6-1

 

Abandonment of a child shall consist in any of the following acts by anyone having the custody or control of the child: (a) willfully forsaking a child; (b) failing to care for and keep the control and custody of a child so that the child shall be exposed to physical or moral risk without proper and sufficient protection; (c) failing to care for and keep the control and custody of a child so that the child shall be liable to be supported and maintained at the expense of the public, or by child caring societies or private persons not legally chargeable with its or their care, custody and control.

 

The general rule is 1 year, although no specific time frame is stated in the statute.

Roger and 7 other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you