Family Law Questions? Ask a Family Lawyer Online.
The age of emancipation(cessation of child support) in Colorado was lowered from 21 to 19 years of age.
Under some circumstances, such as a child's mental or physical disability, the court may extend the obligation beyond age of 19. If the child is still in high school or an equivalent program, support may continue until the end of the month following graduation but not beyond age 21. The child however would need to file a motion in court to get the extension since a support order is not currntly in place.
Please be aware that my answer is not legal advice, it is merely information and no attorney client relationship has been formed. You should always contact a local attorney for legal advice.
Yes she could file in Utah since she is now living there. The Age of majority in Utah is set at 18 years of age or when the child has graduated from high school during the their normal and expected year of graduation, which ever occurs later. (U.C.A. 78-45-7.10)
Duty to pay child support is typically terminated at age 18 for order issued prior to July 1, 1994. For orders issued after July 1, 1994, 18 years of age or when the child graduates from high school during the their normal and expected year of graduation, which ever occurs later.
With respect to proof, he can ask for a copy of the report card and attendance record from the school. As a parent he is entitled to those items.
Yes, as long as she has not gotten married, or has become a legally emancipated child the child support obligation continues. One point I want to clarify. You indicated there was no support order in place. If true Utah is where the filing should be. If a support order is in place, if if done by a military court, that jurisdiction should be where she files. The military support order if it exists will indicate the age at which payment stops.