How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask InformationForYou Your Own Question
InformationForYou, Family Law Attorney
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 1956
Experience:  18 years as a family law attorney, adjunct law professor
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
InformationForYou is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

How old does a child need to be in the state of Oregon before

This answer was rated:

How old does a child need to be in the state of Oregon before they can decide whether they want to visit a parent or not?

A child's stated preference can be a factor, but usually only when the child is at least 14 years old. We pay more attention to teenagers, but adults make the final decision. That means that the court will start listening to a child at around 14 and the older the child is the more the court will listen to him/her but the child can't decide on his/her own without the court's confirmation of his/her requests.


Please hit "accept" so the company pays me. Thanks.

InformationForYou and other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you
This was specific to Oregon law.

Related Family Law Questions