Family Law Questions? Ask a Family Lawyer Online.
That would be 18 years of age for emancipation from ones parent in all US States including Texas this would include moving out. He must be 18 to legally move from his parents property unless he gets emancipated by a court of law which isn't easy to do. He would need to petition the courts for emancipation and if his parents do not consent it is unlikely this would be approved.
You are still legally responsible for him until he is 18. If he leaves and you fail to report him as a run away you can be held liable for any actions and for any incidents he has. Should he become hurt while away you could be charged with neglect as well.
Here is a link with further information on the subject:
Emancipation of Minors - All US States
The legal age of majority for the state is 18. Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code Title 5, Chapter 129
The 17-years of age pertains to two other issues, the age at which the person may have consensual sex, and the age at which a person can be tried as an adult for certain criminal offenses. Texas law enforcement will not get involved in a situation where a minor leaves home w/o parental permission, until that person's parents or guardian file a request and receive a order of requisition from the court to have the minor returned to their custody or the custody of juvenile authorities. Furthermore, any person(s) who aid a minor in such circumstances such as allowing them to live in their home, renting them a room, assisting in transportation, etc. can be held criminally and civilly responsible for contributing to the delinquency of said minor. (TS/TFC Title 2) .
He can move out with permission from the parent who has coustody.....but bear in mind if something happens to him you will be held responsible for it. If both parents have joint custody then permission will be needed by both parents.
He can not legally by law move out..........the above information just means the police will not make him come home. That doesn't mean that if he gets in trouble out there you are off the hook. Should he become hurt you can be charged with neglect.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).