How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Dan B. Your Own Question

Dr. Dan B.
Dr. Dan B., Board Certified Ophthalmologist
Category: Eye
Satisfied Customers: 3150
Experience:  Eye surgeon experienced in cataracts, glaucoma, retina & neuro-ophthalmology
Type Your Eye Question Here...
Dr. Dan B. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I recently had two different opinions regarding my eye correction.

Resolved Question:

I recently had two different opinions regarding my eye correction. The doctors wrote pescriptons and I'm unclear if they really are the same. I'm confused as to which prescription I should use.

Dr. #1 wrote the following: OD -11.75 + 0.75 x 150 OS -11.00 + 0.50 x 019 Add +2.50

Dr. # XXXXX wrote : OD -11.75 - 0.25 x 60 OS -1100 - 0.25 x 165 Add +2.50

Thanks,
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Eye
Expert:  Dr. Dan B. replied 3 years ago.

Hello and thanks for your question. First of all, the two prescriptions are written in different formats or conventions. When you look at the middle number for the prescription on each eye, you will note that it either has a + sign before it or a - sign before. You can write a prescription in either format, plus or minus, but the numbers change (are translated) when you change the format from plus to minus or vice versa.

 

When the format of the second prescription is to be plus like that of the 1st prescription, you can then compare apples to apples. Having done that, the right eye prescriptions on both are very similar, just a little bit more astigmatism in the 1st prescription. The left eyes are almost exactly the same.

 

The botXXXXX XXXXXne is, the two prescriptions are very similar and the differences would likely not make a significant difference in how you see. If I were you, I would think about how you saw when you were getting each prescription made and how you felt about the process with each one, and go with the prescription that you felt the best about. If there really is an error made in the glasses (or things just don't feel quite right), almost all optical shops will allow a remake of the glasses to be done in the first 90 days free of charge.

 

I don't think you'll lose on either one, though.

 

Does that help answer your question?

 

 

I am happy to be able to help you today. If you would be so kind, please help me get credit for my efforts in answering your questions and press the ACCEPT button for this encounter. I will also be happy to answer any other questions until you have the information you need.

 

Any positive feedback and/or bonus you may feel prompted to provide would be welcomed and is appreciated. Thanks for your inquiry!

 

My opinion is solely informative and does not constitute a formal medical opinion or recommendation. For a formal medical opinion and/or recommendation you must see an eye doctor.

Customer: replied 3 years ago.

So when you translated the two prescriptions on the middle numbers and put them on the + number. What is the exact perscription so that I can compare apples to apples. You have already begun to satisfy my concerns, I just want the numbers translated for me so I know what they are.

 

Thanks,

Expert:  Dr. Dan B. replied 3 years ago.

So when the minus prescription (the second one) is translated to plus it becomes:

 

OD: -12.00 +0.25 x150

OS: -11.25 +0.25 x55 +2.50

 

That compares to the 1st prescription in plus form:

 

OD: -11.75 +0.75 x150

OS: 11.00 +0.50 x 019 +2.50

 

Does that help?

Customer: replied 3 years ago.

I missed typed the 1st perscripton and it should be

OD is correct

OS is -11.00 + .50 x 018

+2.50 to both eyes.

 

 

The perscription that is currently in my glasses is

OD -12.00 - 0.25 x 016

OS - 11.50 - 0.50 x 115

+2.50 add to both

How does this measure with the minus perscription?

 

How much difference will this make?

 

Also your answers have been very helpful. I'm glad there is someone out there to explain this to me on a better level as I have been very frustrated with the quality of eye care that I have received. I know it is difficult with the high perscription that I have and it is becoming more difficult to see as crisply as I would like. I teach physical education, therefore needing to see students out on a field and then having to record skill scores in a grade book as well as working on a computer. Please bear with me as I try to become more clear on what is really going on with my perscription.

Expert:  Dr. Dan B. replied 3 years ago.

Thanks for letting me know about the typo. The typo is in the axis (direction) of the astigmatism and it amounts to 1 degree difference, so essentially the same.

 

Your glasses prescription in plus form is:

 

OD: -12.25 +0.25 x106

OS: -12.00 +0.50 x 25

 

So comparing both new prescriptions to your current glasses, the 1st prescription has a little less nearsightedness (myopia) in OD with a bit more astigmatism in a different axis and OS has a little less myopia and similar astigmatism powers and axis. Your glasses compared to prescription two show only a hair more myopia and same astigmatism power with a little different axis in OD. In OS the myopia is a little less, with less astigmatism.

 

So In prescription two OD is relatively the same as OD in glasses and OS is a little less powered as far as myopia than in OS in glasses. The 1st prescription probably has a little more change to both OD and OS than in your current glasses. So, if you feel like your vision has changed significantly since your last glasses prescription, then you may consider getting prescription #1. If not, you may consider #2 if you even want to get new glasses (you may choose to not get them since neither of them are a large change). Of course, I don't know how your vision measures in your glasses and in prescriptions #1 and #2, so if one gives better vision, you ought to go with that.

 

I hope that was helpful.

 

 

Dr. Dan B., Board Certified Ophthalmologist
Category: Eye
Satisfied Customers: 3150
Experience: Eye surgeon experienced in cataracts, glaucoma, retina & neuro-ophthalmology
Dr. Dan B. and other Eye Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
< Last | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Dan B.

    Board Certified Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2903
    Eye surgeon experienced in cataracts, glaucoma, retina & neuro-ophthalmology
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DoctorDanB/2010-6-7_6228_just_answer_profile_picture_60_pixels.jpg Dr. Dan B.'s Avatar

    Dr. Dan B.

    Board Certified Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2903
    Eye surgeon experienced in cataracts, glaucoma, retina & neuro-ophthalmology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/anupamadesai/2010-04-13_122313_Dr._A.S.Desai_new_photo.jpg Dr. A.S. Desai's Avatar

    Dr. A.S. Desai

    Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1903
    MS Ophthalmology with 11 years of surgical expereince
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsokoye/2009-10-28_181751_Dr._Stan.JPG Dr. Stan's Avatar

    Dr. Stan

    Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    895
    Johns Hopkins Fellowship Trained, Certified and Licensed Medical Physician and Surgeon
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/eyemd/2009-04-07_180315_pic.jpg Dr. Stevens's Avatar

    Dr. Stevens

    Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    629
    Board Certified Ophthalmologist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CO/CorneaDoc/2012-2-18_0390_photo6.64x64.jpg Dr. Susan's Avatar

    Dr. Susan

    Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    217
    Board Certified & Fellowship trained eye surgeon.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/neuph94/2009-10-11_164729_gif_pic.GIF Dr. JP's Avatar

    Dr. JP

    Ophthalmology, Oculoplastic Surgery

    Satisfied Customers:

    28
    Harvard Medical School, Massachussetts Eye and Ear
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjcufyksv/2012-3-13_44825_crop3.64x64.jpg Dr-Trace's Avatar

    Dr-Trace

    Board Certified Ophthalmologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    26
    Board Certified in General Ophthalmology
 
 
 

Related Eye Questions