How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask INC Your Own Question

INC
INC, Solicitor-Advocate
Category: European Law
Satisfied Customers: 93
Experience:  LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
12179604
Type Your European Law Question Here...
INC is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I am renting a flat in Belgium. A the move-in inspection,

Customer Question

I am renting a flat in Belgium. A the move-in inspection, several major issues were noted that the landlord needed to address - including a 50 m2 terrace that was unusable because it was unsafe.
A year later, we are finally getting part of the terrace fixed - the landlord claimed he couldn't find anybody to do the work, and we finally found somebody. It has required taking up all the board on the terrace, replacing the supports which had rotted, and then relaying the top boards. As part of the work, the guard rail had to be removed. It was unsafe to start with. the landlord has refused to install a new guard rail, even though we have found the Belgian building code which shows the old handrail is not to code and is unsafe.
1. What are our options to get the landlord to put in a new guardrail that is to code.
2. Since our terrace was unusable for 13 months, and was included in our lease, what compensation are we entitled to and how do we claim it?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: European Law
Expert:  Fran-mod replied 1 year ago.
I'm Fran, and I’m a moderator for this topic.

We have been working with the professionals to try to help you with your question. Sometimes it may take a bit of time to find the right fit. I was checking to see if you had already found your answer or if you still needing assistance from one of the professionals.

Please let me know if you wish to continue waiting or if you would like for us to close your question.Also remember that JustAnswer has a multitude of categories to help you with all your needs from Health, Pets, Computers, Cars, Finance, Law, to Home Improvement, and more.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Still need help
Expert:  Wendy-Mod replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

Thank you, we will continue to look for a professional to assist you. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance while you wait.

Best,
Wendy
Expert:  Fran-mod replied 1 year ago.
Hello again,

We are still working with the professionals to find you the best possible match. I wanted to touch base to see if you still needed a professional’s assistance.

Please let me know if you would like to continue to wait or if you would like to cancel your question at this time. We sincerely apologize for the extended wait time.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Still need a reply
Expert:  Fran-mod replied 1 year ago.
Your question is open to all of our EU lawyers and site researchers. Thanks for your patience.
Expert:  Wendy-Mod replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

I'm sorry to say we have exhausted all our efforts at this time to find the right professional to assist you with your question.

While we were not able to assist you with this question, please keep in mind that JustAnswer has multiple categories, from Cars, Medical, Tax, and Computer to Home Improvement, to assist you with any question you may need answered.

Best,
Wendy

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    93
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg INC's Avatar

    INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    93
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/JoseMagadan/2013-6-27_16279_IMG6290copia.64x64.JPG José M.'s Avatar

    José M.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    437
    Spanish Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    45
    UK based Immigration Solicitor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Topadvisor/2010-5-18_221239_Me.jpg Top_advisor's Avatar

    Top_advisor

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31
    Solicitor and Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    14
    Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/IT/ItalianLawyer/2013-6-10_214626_P10100822.64x64.jpg T.DePas's Avatar

    T.DePas

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    151
    Solicitor - Ph.D. Doctor Europaeus in EU law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AV/A.Valcke/2013-7-8_11622_valcke1.64x64.jpg A.Valcke's Avatar

    A.Valcke

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    135
    14+ years experience // Masters in EU Law
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Lawyer
INC
INC
Lawyer
93 Satisfied Customers
LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)