How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Martin Your Own Question

Martin
Martin, Engineer
Category: Entertainment
Satisfied Customers: 4105
Experience:  Fan of Cinema and Video Games
14666028
Type Your Entertainment Question Here...
Martin is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hello, I would need a professional opinion in this matter.

Customer Question

Hello, I would need a professional opinion in this matter. I am a music composer with a BA in composition striving to establish myself but I find it hard cause I dont have a lot of contacts where I live. What would be a good way to get started and get work? And how can I get in contact with ensembles/orchestras/organizations to write for? Im not sure if there is a place where it is easier to do this and where there are more opportunities than where I am. By the way Im writing in all genres but at the moment mostly musical theatre and classical music. I have to reconsidering going back to school and study if I don´t get work soon. By the way I cant work as teacher at the moment cause I have a diagnosis in the autistic spectrum and no degree. And also this makes it more difficult to interact in social situations and do networking. Thx Isa

Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Entertainment
Expert:  Martin replied 1 year ago.
Hello and welcome. You could try to work for TV station and production houses. One other way is to work for a video game studio, a famous one in Sweden is DICE http://dice.se/ As it is part of EA you could have lot of work if you can get in.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thx for the info Martin, but video games is not in my field.

Expert:  Martin replied 1 year ago.
Too bad, lot of classical music in video game these days. You would not even see the difference with "ordinary" music and is frequently played by the world largest orchestra worldwide (the London Philharmonic among other).

You could also contact local songwriter in Sweden, many never do the music itself and only put words on it.

The best way to get in contact with musicians is to go see them play and offer them a portfolio of your past work. Music festival is also a great way to meet them.

Another avenue is to get into the marketing/ad agency world. There is lot of money to be made in small jingle type of music.

As you mention theater, you could send demo to all the country stage director.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Cher

    MENTOR/ENTERTAINMENT

    Satisfied Customers:

    384
    TV, Movies, Music, Parties, Entertainment Industry Analyst
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CE/Cerecita/2011-3-16_2565_JAPIC500x500.64x64.jpg Cher's Avatar

    Cher

    MENTOR/ENTERTAINMENT

    Satisfied Customers:

    384
    TV, Movies, Music, Parties, Entertainment Industry Analyst
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/greenowl/2008-12-31_012617_martinphoto.jpg Martin's Avatar

    Martin

    Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    200
    Fan of Cinema and Video Games
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ER/Erdaram/2011-6-21_14724_ANIEric4Pics.64x64.gif Erdaram's Avatar

    Erdaram

    Composer, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards

    Satisfied Customers:

    146
    I have been Writing, Arranging, Composing, Preforming and Recording Music for 37 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AS/Ask Veronica/2012-7-24_232057_IMG2.64x64.jpg Ask Veronica's Avatar

    Ask Veronica

    Entertainment Exec.

    Satisfied Customers:

    140
    10+ years as an Entertainment Executive and Industry Insider
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/hman20/2010-7-3_44327_Hugh2.gif Hugh's Avatar

    Hugh

    Composer, Producer and Performer

    Satisfied Customers:

    55
    20 years experience in performing, studio sessions, producing, composing, entertainment management.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mricci11/2009-06-30_052008_Picture.jpg Linda Roch's Avatar

    Linda Roch

    Magazine Editor

    Satisfied Customers:

    27
    I was a magazine editor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ER/49erLBSU/2013-8-19_175446_michael.64x64.jpg Michael's Avatar

    Michael

    Entertainment Industry Analyst

    Satisfied Customers:

    91
    Entertainment Industry Professional