How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask The Scribbler Your Own Question

The Scribbler
The Scribbler, Lamentably Modest Publications
Category: Entertainment
Satisfied Customers: 1387
Experience:  Short Story Writer
Type Your Entertainment Question Here...
The Scribbler is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

In the game of Bridge, if the declarer touches a dummy card ...

Resolved Question:

In the game of Bridge, if the declarer touches a dummy card but then decides not to play must he play it? That i, should i touch a card signifying i might play it but don't do i have to play it if it is not a renege.
Submitted: 9 years ago.
Category: Entertainment
Expert:  The Scribbler replied 9 years ago.
If the declarer touches a dummy card it is considered played... and must be played. The touching of the card is all it takes.

"...Played Card. The declarer plays a card from his own hand when he places it on the table or when it is named as an intended play. When
the declarer touches a card in the dummy hand, it is considered played (except when he is merely arranging the dummies cards). Alternatively,
the declarer may name a card in the dummy and such a card must be played. A defender plays a card when he exposes it so that the other defender can see its face. A card once played may not be withdrawn, except to correct a revoke or other irregularity."

That is the rule enforced in the party bridge and duplicate bridge venues I have played in over the years as well.
The Scribbler and other Entertainment Specialists are ready to help you