Hello and welcome to Just Answer. No attorney-client relationship or privilege is formed by speaking to an expert on this site, the answers are for general information. By continuing, you confirm that you understand and agree to these terms.
A little background, The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that a minimum wage be paid for all hours an employee is “suffered or permitted” to work and that an overtime wage be paid for all hours “worked” over 40 in a week. The FLSA does not specifically define “hours worked” or place a limit on the number of hours an employee may work; it requires only that overtime be paid for any hours worked over 40.
That said, Connecticut’s current minimum wage rate is $9.60, and you cannot be paid below that minimum. Also, Connecticut labor laws require that you be paid overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when you work more than 40 hours in a workweek.
Regarding your decrease in the hourly wage, now since you did not have a contract with Dunkin Donuts, then under Connecticut law, they can decrease you hourly wage, provided that you are given written notice. There is not time stated in the law for the notice, it just requires that they give writing prior to the decrease. This is found in Conn. Stat. 31-71f.
It was a pleasure assisting you today, and I would appreciate if you would rate my service, so I will receive credit and payment for my work. After you rate the question you can ask follow up questions, and you will not be charged any additional money for the follow-up questions.