How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask socrateaser Your Own Question

socrateaser
socrateaser, Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 33925
Experience:  Retired (mostly)
10097515
Type Your Employment Law Question Here...
socrateaser is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Contract edit and review

Resolved Question:

Attachment: 2013-08-28_201243_my_independent_contractor_agreement.doc

I own a solar company in New Jersey. I am subbing out installs to an electric company. I drew a contract up through rocket lawyer but I would like to have it reviewed. It probably needs some minor edits, I think some of the information I added may not meet legal standards and some of it is repeditive. The document is only four pages and should only take about 10 minutes to review

Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Employment Law
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

Can you please point out the specific areas of your concern?

Thanks in advance.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
There isn't a specific area. It's moreso the entire agreement.
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.

Okay, well, I'll tell you what -- the contract seems pretty solid to me (and I'm ultra critical, when it comes to this stuff, so, maybe you ought to go to law school).

Thoughts:

1. You may want to add a mediation/arbitration clause, to avoid any expensive courtroom litigation. Example:

  • In the event of any dispute, claim, question, or disagreement arising from or relating to this agreement or the breach thereof, the parties hereto shall use their best efforts to settle the dispute, claim, question, or disagreement. To this effect, they shall consult and negotiate with each other in good faith and, recognizing their mutual interests, attempt to reach a just and equitable solution satisfactory to both parties. If they do not reach such solution within a period of 60 days, then, upon notice by either party to the other, all disputes, claims, questions, or differences shall be finally settled by arbitration administered by the American Arbitration Association in accordance with the provisions of its Commercial Arbitration Rules.


2. You may want to say something about how you will resolve the issue of your electrical contractors license being suspended or revoked. Example:

  • If at any time, Calvi's electrical contracting license is suspended or revoked, during the course of this contract, Sun Up shall have the right to either replace Calvi with a substitute contractor and terminate the existing contract immediately, or to suspend the contract, while using a substitute contractor, until Calvi can legally perform its obligations to Sun Up. During any period of suspension or if the Sun Up exercises its option to terminate, Calvi shall have no right to further compensation for any work not completed as of the date of suspension or termination, and any materials in Calvi's possession shall be transferred forthwith to Sun Up as may be necessary to complete any construction contracts entered into prior to the date of contract suspension or termination.


3. Thirty day notice of termination of the agreement seems pretty short. You could quit and leave the other party with a dozen different unfinished jobs, and no other contract may be willing to work for your price. Example:

  • In the event of a voluntary 30-day notice of termination of the agreement, each party shall in good faith endeavor to complete any work not yet finished, and to satisfy any remaining financial obligations, such that neither party shall suffer any reasonably foreseeable injury due to the termination of the agreement.

 

4. The indemnification clause would cover the other party, assuming that you have sufficient resources to actually pay the indemnification costs. If I were on the other side, I would be looking for a blanket performance bond, or some other insurance that would cover my client against your default. Otherwise, once again, you could be leaving the party in the lurch. I don't know what the other party is looking for, but I see this as a potential point of dispute.

Let me know what else I can do for you. Hope this helps.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Attachment: 2013-08-28_220312_independent_contractor_agreement.pdf

I added a few of the things you were talking about and I added a "commissioning checklist" as exhibit 1. Could you review the changes and tell me if the way I included and introduced exhibit 1 makes legal sense? I will leave feedback and pay you when I get your response. Thank you for all of your help!

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

I might have sent the wrong one

Attachment: 2013-08-28_220748_my_independent_contractor_agreement.doc

Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
The attachment language is fine.

The additional insurance language is too broad. It doesn't specify what insurance is being provided. You could be offering to pay for Sun Up's workers comp or just about anything else. Also, without talking to your agent, you don't know whether or not you can make Sun Up a loss-payee, and to what extent. So, you need to discuss this with the insurer.

Other than that -- looks pretty good to me.

Hope this helps.
socrateaser, Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 33925
Experience: Retired (mostly)
socrateaser and 8 other Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
< Last | Next >
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
  • Excellent direction from Socrateaser to help me preserve and pursue my rights as a proud American who has become unemployed in this messed-up economic downfall. Thank you Happy Customer Denver, CO
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/marshadjd/2009-6-1_194320_marshajd.jpg Marsha411JD's Avatar

    Marsha411JD

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    10539
    Licensed Attorney with 27 yrs. exp in Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NY/nyclawyer/2012-6-7_22011_photo66139201112041.64x64.jpg Infolawyer's Avatar

    Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9785
    Licensed attorney helping employers and employees.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/jaccorpsesq/2011-11-13_21141_JAnewphoto.64x64.jpg Allen M., Esq.'s Avatar

    Allen M., Esq.

    Employment Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9429
    Employment/Labor Law Litigation
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MI/MILawyer/2011-2-28_0311_JBUprofile.64x64.jpg JB Umphrey's Avatar

    JB Umphrey

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6273
    Assisting employees and employers for over 14 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2469
    Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2214
    I provide employment and discrimination law advice in my own practice.