How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Marsha411JD Your Own Question

Marsha411JD
Marsha411JD, Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 17612
Experience:  Licensed Attorney with 28 yrs. exp in Employment Law
19127644
Type Your Employment Law Question Here...
Marsha411JD is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have an EEOC complaint against my employer, that is a mental

Resolved Question:

I have an EEOC complaint against my employer, that is a mental health provider for the RHBA in Maricopa county. The complaint is for sexual harassment, and gender and age discrimination in their promotions for leadership positions. The complaint was filed in Sept 2012; I attended arbitration in January 2013 and which I declined to continue with when my employer offered management training for positions they were hiring women under 40 yo for who had not attended any company mandated management training. To date, there have been retaliations regarding my annual performance report, allegations by female staff that I have made racist remarks, and my work has been overly scrutinized and purposefully delayed by supervisors presenting my work as less than acceptable and late. The EEOC investigator has not made any rulings and has not indicated at what level of the investigation my charge is. I remain without remedy other than I continue to remain employed in the same positions with the same team with the same employer. Guess those are good things. However, I am questioning whether I should file retaliation complaints for the past 4 months of allegations against my good name and professional reputation; for the unremarkable 2012 performance report which was far less in acknowledgement of my professional abilities and contributions to the company compared to the past two years before the initial EEOC complaint; and since my work is excessively scrutinized and delayed thereby hindering my weekly production (which has not been an issue before). Do I need a layer now or should I wait to see of the EEOC will take up my case or a Right to Sue is issued? Do I file charges of retaliation as a means of preventing or precluding further erosions of my status as the employer attempts to paint a picture of me as an undesirable and ineffective employee as they slowly edge me towards the exit? Thank you
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Employment Law
Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

Thank you for the information and your question. If you want to preserve the retaliation issue for possible litigation, then you should add this to your current complaint pending with the EEOC. That may encourage the investigator to move your case up if they can. These cases typically can take some time to resolve. As for whether you should hire an attorney and perhaps consider filing suit without waiting for the EEOC to decide what they are going to do with the case, that is up to you. That decision hinges on whether or not you think you can hang in there until the EEOC acts and also whether you have the money to enter into litigation. These cases in litigation can be expensive and can take some time to resolve.

What I might recommend is that you sit down with a local employment law attorney and discuss all the details of your case, the employer's actions and company policies and practices, in addition to what happened at mediation, to see whether they think it would serve you better to wait or go ahead an ask the EEOC to issue your "right to sue" letter now and file suit. Then, after consulting with your attorney and knowing what it will cost you to file suit,etc., you can make a decision.

Please let me know if you need any clarification. I would be glad to assist you further if I can.
Marsha411JD, Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 17612
Experience: Licensed Attorney with 28 yrs. exp in Employment Law
Marsha411JD and 11 other Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

I do want to preserve my retaliation concerns and will alert the EEOC soon. I am also in a position to wait out the EEOC investigation despite many of the witnesses having been fired, or resigned having taken other jobs. I do have names and contact numbers of witnesses so when and if the time comes for depositions, and despite what the employer has been led to believe by those who committed the discriminations, I am confident that 99% of the witnesses and those that blatantly committed the discrimination will reveal the truth when deposed and the employer will have no choice but to resolve the complaint out of court prior to a summary judgment. I am convinced after 5 years of trying that the employer will never hire me for a leadership role; and I will have 6 years until I would like to retire so the employer would be better off committing to a financial separation agreement now. Who do you recommend as the best lawyer for depositions? That is all it would take to end this charade.

Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
Hello again and thank you for your reply. We would not be allowed to give any specific referrals or recommendations of counsel. However, if you contact your County Bar Association (if there is one), they can give you a specific referral for an employment law firm and that represents employees in discrimination cases.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


I have checked for legal counsel and so many have some relationship with either the RHBA(the state contractor), the County, the State or my employer as their client at some time. I will keep trying. have you ever handled an EEOC for an employee before?

Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
That is why it is important with you speak to the lawyer referral service that you specifically state that you need an employment law firm that represents employees. They will have a list of who are plaintiffs firms and who are defendants firms.

Yes, I have represented employees before. I was also, at one time, counsel for a corporation, so I have worked both sides of these issues (at different times.)
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


Thank you for your time.

Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
You're welcome and best of luck to you!

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
< Last | Next >
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
  • Excellent direction from Socrateaser to help me preserve and pursue my rights as a proud American who has become unemployed in this messed-up economic downfall. Thank you Happy Customer Denver, CO
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/marshadjd/2009-6-1_194320_marshajd.jpg Marsha411JD's Avatar

    Marsha411JD

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    10539
    Licensed Attorney with 27 yrs. exp in Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NY/nyclawyer/2012-6-7_22011_photo66139201112041.64x64.jpg Infolawyer's Avatar

    Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9785
    Licensed attorney helping employers and employees.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/jaccorpsesq/2011-11-13_21141_JAnewphoto.64x64.jpg Allen M., Esq.'s Avatar

    Allen M., Esq.

    Employment Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9429
    Employment/Labor Law Litigation
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MI/MILawyer/2011-2-28_0311_JBUprofile.64x64.jpg JB Umphrey's Avatar

    JB Umphrey

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6273
    Assisting employees and employers for over 14 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2469
    Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2214
    I provide employment and discrimination law advice in my own practice.
 
 
 
Chat Now With An Employment Lawyer
Marsha411JD
Marsha411JD
11051 Satisfied Customers
Licensed Attorney with 28 yrs. exp in Employment Law