How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask JB Umphrey Your Own Question

JB Umphrey
JB Umphrey, Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 20231
Experience:  Assisting employees and employers for over 14 years.
Type Your Employment Law Question Here...
JB Umphrey is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I recently had a midyear review. In my midyear review, it states

Resolved Question:

I recently had a midyear review. In my midyear review, it states that I am strong minded, condescending, and intimidating. I asked my manager for specific feedback or examples. I was told he could not provide them as this was confidental feedback and I am in danger of not getting a "meets" rating at the end of year. We have talked about in the year as to date how I am very factual and follow our SOPs to the letter and need to work on some of my people skills. I however feel this is a very damning review (which I received in August, ie 4 months left of the year) to which I have not been given opportunity to discuss the situation or person I have offended. My role is a trainer or supervisor which is bound to bring upon some conflict. Is there any wya to rebute this to HR?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Employment Law
Expert:  JB Umphrey replied 2 years ago.
Thank you for using JustAnswer!

I am sorry to learn of your circumstances. Was this mid-year review done in writing? Do you have a copy of it?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Yes, text below...

Sarah Berard July href="http://www.justanswer.com/employment-law/5ipa5-recently-midyear-review-midyear-review-states.html1

As far as technical aspects go, Sarah is a very strong asset to the team. It was noted in peer feedback she is a go-to person for training, scheduling and process improvement. As an individual, Sarah has a high capacity to take on multiple assignments and projects, on that note I would just throw caution that she does not take on too much.

Sarah has been a key part of the training program overhaul continuous improvement project. As a team, they accomplished more than just standardization of how we do our work. They also created a mechanism for change, conduit for communicating to the staff, and an overall improved perception of the Toxicology Technical group. I view Sarah as one of the major drivers within the training team to push the team through the teambuilding process. She has emerged as a leader.

In addition to the training team she also is part of the T5 team. In this role, I feel she has done a good job ensuring study continuity and good continuity. Feedback from peers suggests this is one of her greatest strengths. Feedback is very clear that Sarah is aware of each techs strengths and weaknesses and does a good job scheduling to maximize them.

Sarah has taken the responsibility of managing the weekend rotation as well. In this area I would encourage Sarah to to use what she knows about herself and team dynamics to improve and again lead the push through the growing pains with the T5 team. In general feedback from peers around Sarah's weekend coordinating role was very positive in this area. It was noted that her good communication, helpful nature and organization makes work get done smoothly.

The most critical feedback I've received about Sarah is that of low patience approachability and how she communicates to her peers. In the feedback, the word "intimidating, condescending and strong minded" came up several times. As a manager, I know Sarah is aware of her personality, and has been actively trying to manage her reactions and body language to improve upon these perceptions. I'm afraid that influence on her peers is a critical piece of the T5 role. In this role, it is not so much how much can you do, but how well can you influence and motivate others. I feel she needs to make a noticeable change to how she influences her peers or she will be at risk of not meeting expectations. While it can be exhausting, the supervisory role really challenges leaders to be self aware and doing what is necessary to make a positive influence on the team.

One area I am most impressed with about Sarah is her coachability as I don't believe everyone is truly coachable. Sarah has taken responsibility for herself and put time and effort into understanding and working through her weaknesses. I think she has made the most notable progress within the training team. Sarah has emerged as a leader within the group and has been in control of keeping progress and holding her peers accountable while maintaining good team working relationships. She has been willing to work through conflicts and encourage her peers to work as a team.This has been an extraordinary amount of work that I don't want to go unnoticed. I think Sarah should take the next challenge of applying the same principles to her peers outside of the training team that she feels are most difficult, and try to influence them so that preserves and strengthens their relationship. I think Sarah has the drive and willingness to listen to feedback and I think if she can take the feedback and use it to support her influence strategy, then long term she will be very successful.

Sarah seems to enjoy a challenge. One last challenge I would put forth is that I think she should look to find creative ways to add fun into the job for her and for the good of her peers. I know our work environment is stressful and full of uncertainty.

Expert:  JB Umphrey replied 2 years ago.
Thank you. What is the outcome that you are seeking?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Is there any recourse I could take to HR about unfair feedback and oneway input into my review?
Expert:  JB Umphrey replied 2 years ago.
You can write a written rebuttal statement that outlines what you disagree with and why.

You can make a copy of that statement for your personal records and give the original to HR and request that HR include your written rebuttal into your personnel file.

It has been my pleasure to assist you today with your information needs. If you have a follow-up question, please reply and ask it.

If you are satisfied that your question has been answered, kindly select the ACCEPT button to close this thread and so that I receive credit for assisting you today.
JB Umphrey, Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 20231
Experience: Assisting employees and employers for over 14 years.
JB Umphrey and 3 other Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
< Last | Next >
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
  • Excellent direction from Socrateaser to help me preserve and pursue my rights as a proud American who has become unemployed in this messed-up economic downfall. Thank you Happy Customer Denver, CO
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/marshadjd/2009-6-1_194320_marshajd.jpg Marsha411JD's Avatar

    Marsha411JD

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    10539
    Licensed Attorney with 27 yrs. exp in Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NY/nyclawyer/2012-6-7_22011_photo66139201112041.64x64.jpg Infolawyer's Avatar

    Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9785
    Licensed attorney helping employers and employees.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/jaccorpsesq/2011-11-13_21141_JAnewphoto.64x64.jpg Allen M., Esq.'s Avatar

    Allen M., Esq.

    Employment Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9429
    Employment/Labor Law Litigation
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MI/MILawyer/2011-2-28_0311_JBUprofile.64x64.jpg JB Umphrey's Avatar

    JB Umphrey

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6273
    Assisting employees and employers for over 14 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2469
    Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2214
    I provide employment and discrimination law advice in my own practice.